Athletic Training Resources

This LibGuide supports the USF Athletic Training Professional program, at the Morsani College of Medicine's Department of Orthopaedics & Sports Medicine. Its educational program encompasses current research and formal instruction in the prevention and r

Clinical Resources

Provides indexing and abstracting for over 1,600 current nursing and allied health journals and other publications dating back to 1982. Offers complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications, covering nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative complementary medicine, consumer health, and 17 allied health disciplines.

Contains information about FDA-approved indications, off-label uses, pharmacokinetic data, safety information, pharmacology, and monitoring. Includes AHFS Drug Information.

Databases of summaries and detailed monographs for drugs and drug interactions. Also includes tools on Drug Interactions, Drug Identification, IV Compatability, Drug Comparisons, and RED BOOK online.

A free database of over 40,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy, with citation details, abstracts and links to the full text, where possible. Produced by Musculoskeletal Health Sydney, School of Public Health at the University of Sydney and hosted by Neuroscience Research Australia (NeuRA).

Trip medical database is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. As well as research evidence, Trip allows clinicians to search across other content types including images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news.

Article Database

Covers both serial and monographic literature in the following areas of sport: recreation, exercise physiology, sports medicine, coaching, physical fitness, the psychology, history and sociology of sport, training, and conditioning. Seventy percent of the database consists of periodical articles. Produced by the Coaching Association of Canada Sport Information Resource Centre.

Database of systematic reviews and protocols specific to the health sciences. Includes Database of Systematic Reviews, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness, Controlled Trials Register, and Review Methodology, Technology Assessments and Economic Evaluations. Non USF Health users click here.

The primary database for biomedical and health sciences abstracts, including MEDLINE, with links to Shimberg Library full-text articles.

MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's website for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in easy-to-understand language. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free.

Access to international biomedical and pharmocologic literature from over 90 countries, including over 2,700 journals unique to EMBASE. Non-USF Health patrons click here.

Access to pharmacy-related articles and conference abstracts. Developed by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP). Non-USF Health patrons click here.

Covers the professional academic literature in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. Coverage is worldwide and includes references and abstracts to over 2,500 journals and to dissertations in over 30 languages, and to book chapters and books in the English language. Over 50,000 references added annually. Popular literature is excluded. This database is updated online weekly.

Access to peer-reviewed literature from scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings. Scopus also includes extensive journal metrics and author profiles.

Current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 12,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.

Journals

Official journal of the American Orthopaedic Society for Sports Medicine, the United States Ski Association and the National Ski Patrol System. Contains original articles focused on the causes and effects of injury or disease resulting from or affected by athletic injury.

 

BMC Sports Science, Medicine and Rehabilitation is an open access, peer reviewed journal that considers articles on all aspects of sports medicine and the exercise sciences, including rehabilitation, traumatology, cardiology, physiology, and nutrition. ONLINE

Published by the British Association of Sport and Medicine, BJSM is an authoritative original research, systematic reviews, consensus statements and timely debate in sport and exercise medicine (SEM) as well as clinical education and implementation success stories. BJSM serves 25 sports medicine and sports physiotherapy societies who have over 12,000 members. Available ONLINE

Each issue focuses on a single topic relevant to sports medicine and orthopedic surgery practice, from foot and ankle injuries to returning athletes to competition. PRINT (1982-2002, 2006-2014)

JAT provides professionals interested in the quality of health care for the physically active necessary education and research in prevention, evaluation, management and rehabilitation of injuries.

JOSPT publishes scientifically rigorous, clinically relevant content for physical therapists and others in the health care community to advance musculoskeletal and sports-related practice. Now in its 38th year, JOSPT aims to be the preeminent source of scientific evidence to optimize musculoskeletal and sports-related rehabilitation and health in the global community.

The Journal of Sport Rehabilitation (JSR) is your source for the latest peer-reviewed research in the field of sport rehabilitation. The Journal of Sport Rehabilitation (JSR) is your source for the latest peer-reviewed research in the field of sport rehabilitation.

A PubMed-indexed video journal on topics on skills in nursing, allied health, athletic training come to life in this new format.

The Orthopaedic Journal of Sports Medicine (OJSM), developed by the American Orthopaedic Society for Sports Medicine (AOSSM), is a global, peer-reviewed, open access journal that combines the interests of researchers and clinical practitioners across orthopaedic sports medicine, arthroscopy, and knee arthroplasty. ONLINE

Medicine & Science in Sports & Exercise (MSSE), ACSM's flagship monthly journal, is the leading multidisciplinary original research journal for members. Each issue features original investigations, clinical studies and comprehensive reviews on current topics in sports medicine and exercise science.

Covers major aspects of sports medicine and sports science - prevention, management, and rehabilitation of sports, exercise and physical activity related injuries, and occupational problems. ONLINE

Covers science and practice in the promotion of exercise and health, and in the scientific assessment, study and understanding of sports performance. Regular features include: sports injury prevention and treatment; exercise for health; drugs in sport and recommendations for training and nutrition. ONLINE

Published by the Scandinavian Foundation of Medicine and Science in Sports covering orthopaedics, rehabilitation and sports medicine, exercise physiology and biochemistry, biomechanics and motor control, health and disease relating to sport, exercise and physical activity, and social and behavioural aspects of sport and exercise.

Videos, Case Studies, Tutorials

Videos, Case Studies, Tutorials

Case studies related to sports medicine

The BOC establishes both the standards for the practice of athletic training and the continuing education requirements for BOC Certified Athletic Trainers (ATs). Its free Professional Development Needs Assessment (PDNA) tool is designed to help you assess gaps in knowledge and skill within a particular practice area.

Prerecorded webcasts of surgical procedures of actual operations performed at medical centers in the United States. Uses Flash Player.

Self tests and quizzes on the different body systems and terminology developed by the University of Minnesota.

Books & E-books

Professional Organizations

SHAPE America is the nation's largest membership organization of health and physical education professionals.

ACE provides NCCA-accredited certifications and scientifically rooted education to fitness professionals and health enthusiasts

ACRM has worked with hospitals, universities, professional and advocacy organizations, and rehabilitation professionals globally for over 90 years, promote evidence-based practice and practice-based research.

AOSSM is a world leader in sports medicine education, research, communication, and fellowship, working closely with many other sports medicine specialists, including athletic trainers, physical therapists, family physicians, and others to improve the identification, prevention, treatment, and rehabilitation of sports injuries.

ASMI provides advanced training in sports medicine and orthopaedics by means of fellowships for medical specialists who treat patients with sports and recreation-related injuries and musculoskeletal problems. A weekly Sports Medicine Conference series covers basic science, biomechanics, medical issues, conservative and surgical treatment of sports medicine injuries, and the rehabilitation process.