This course will introduce you to the cultures of ancient Greece, Rome, early Christianity and medieval Europe through close study of representative texts (including poetry, drama, histories, and philosophical or religious writings) and works of art in th
Welcome to the Humanities 2210 Subject Guide. Use this guide to conduct research in a wide range of topics related to research in classical and medieval culture. Below are some useful databases for your research Available at USF.
A full-text database of the back issues of core journals. JSTOR currently includes more than 2,000 academic journals, dating back to the first volume ever published, along with thousands of monographs and other materials relevant for education.
- Project Muse
Provides full-text access to more than 200 scholarly journals published by the Johns Hopkins University Press and other scholarly publishers. Subjects include art, anthropology, classics, culture and society, demographics, economics, folklore, history, language, literature, mathematics, medicine and health, philosophy, politics, religion, science, sociology, etc. Coverage varies according to title (1993-).
- L'Année Philologique
L'Annee Philologique is an index of publications related to the history, language, literature and civilization of ancient Greece and Rome. It includes articles, festschriften, dissertations, and conference papers.
- Regesta Imperii
The RI-Opac is a freely accessible database, covering all disciplines of medieval studies for the European language sphere.Within the context of the project Regesta Imperii Online, the RI-Opac is both an online bibliography of the literature quoted in RI publications and a freely accessible, comprehensive database for historical research.
- International Medieval Bibliography
Multidisciplinary Bibliography of the Middle Ages. 300-1500
- Oxford Scholarship Online - Classical Studies
Find books and articles to help you with your research on topics in the classics and medieval arts.
- Brill Online Books and Journals -- Classical Studies
Brill Online Books and Journals is among the richest scholarly sources of its kind, with the full text of nearly 300 book chapters and journal articles in the field of Classics.
- Oxford Classical Dictionary
For almost half a century, The Oxford Classical Dictionary has been regarded as the unrivalled one-volume reference work on all aspects of the Graeco-Roman world. It provides both scholars and non-specialists with a comprehensive source of reference which aims to answer all their questions about the classical world
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome offers a comprehensive overview of the major cultures of the classical Mediterranean world—Greek, Hellenistic, and Roman—from the Bronze Age to the fifth century CE. It also covers the legacy of the classical world and its interpretation and influence in subsequent centuries.
- Cambridge Companions
The Companions are available as a Complete Collection; Cambridge Companions in Literature and Classics; the Cambridge Companions in Philosophy, Religion and Culture; and the Companions in Music.
- Brill's New Jacoby
Jacoby Online presents a completely new edition of “Jacoby” — byword for one of the fundamental modern sources of classical scholarship — in a fully searchable and indexed online format.
- Index of Christian Art
This database contains approximately thirty percent of the paper files which were developed up to 1991, the date at which computers were introduced into the archive as well as all works electronically indexed since then. As works from the paper files are electronically indexed they will be available on this internet site which is regularly updated.
ARTstor is a digital library of approximately 700,000 images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. Includes images relevant to Classical Studies.
- Oxford Art Online
Search three major reference works for art history in one place to find images and quality reference articles. Includes many entries on ancient art and architecture as well as classical subjects in later art.