USF Home | USF Directory | myUSF

Research ToolsGuidesLibrary ServicesSpecial CollectionsHelpAbout
View Librarian Profile
Ask a Librarian

Additional Contacts:

Audrey Powers
apowers@usf.edu
813-974-9001
Room LIB 112 I

Health Sciences

Shimberg Health Sciences Library

Note:
Some resources are available only to USF Health members.
You will be prompted for your USF/Healthnet user ID and password.

Medicine & Health LibGuide

Medicine, Health & Consumer Health

BEST BETS: ARTICLE DATABASES

MEDICINE AND HEALTH

Listed below are key databases that cover medicine and heath as defined as:

Medicine - The medical literature that deals with the practice of diagnosing, treating and preventing disease. 
Health - The health of the population as a whole; the science of protecting the health of families and communities.

Databases

  • Academic Search Premier
    A multidisciplinary database that provides access to the entire of journal and magazine articles. 
     
  • CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature)
    Provides indexing and abstracting for over 1,600 current nursing and allied health journals and other publications dating back to 1982. Offers complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association.
     
  • Health Reference Center Academic
    Search for magazines, books, newspaper articles, images, videos and audio recordings for information about health and medicine.
     
  • MEDLINE
    Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE is a clinical database that contains a broad range of medical topics related to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services. 
  • PsycINFO
    Covers the professional literature in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. Includes direct links to available full-text journal articles, books, and book chapters.
     
  • PubMed​
    A database from the National Library of Medicine includes citations to biomedical articles dating back to the 1960's with links to the full text of articles.   
  • SPORTDiscus
    Covers both the journal articles and book about sports science, including dance medicine and Kinesiology. 

CONSUMER HEALTH

Listed here are key databases that cover consumer health as defined as:

Consumer Health - Medicine and health from a layperson's perspective.

  • Health and Wellness Center
    Access to medical, statistical, and health information is provided through a wide variety of materials including reference sources, full-text magazines, journals, and pamphlets.
     
  • WedMD​
    Search for information about common health topics, drugs and supplements, healthy living, family and news.