Access to the resources listed below is provided by the USF Libraries to users connected to a USF campus network and to off-campus USF students, faculty, and staff who have logged in via BlackBoard, VPN, or USF’s proxy server.
- Sociological Abstracts
Major areas of coverage include culture and social structure; demography and human biology; economic development; environmental interactions; evaluation research; family and social welfare; health and medicine and law; history and theory of sociology;
- Social Sciences Full Text
A resource for a wide variety of users from students to social workers, Social Sciences Full Text covers the latest concepts, trends, opinions, theories, and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences. High quality indexing of periodicals as far back as 1983.
- Google Scholar
Provides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts and articles.
- CQ Researcher
Great place for background information on industries, current events, controversial topics, and more.
- Opposing Viewpoints
Opposing Viewpoints integrates scholarly, academic, and statistical content from a variety of print and online sources to offer users access to information on differing points of view on current social issues with some content retrospective to 1981
- Business Source Premier
Business source premier is one of the definitive scholarly databases in the field of business due to its depth and coverage. The database provides full text articles from more than 2,300 journals, including over 1,100 peer reviewed journals, and indexing for an additional 1,000 titles. Full text coverage dates vary, but some go back to the first issue of the journal.
- Academic Search Premier
Academic search premier, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,650 serials, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: social sciences, language and linguistics and business.
- Web of Science
The ISI Web of Science provides seamless access to the Science Citation Expanded®, Social Sciences Citation Index®, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index™. It enables users to search current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.
Peer Reviewed or Refereed Articles
Refereed or peer reviewed articles are reviewed by an editorial board, a committee of academic peers or referees prior to the article being accepted for publication by a journal. The document is reviewed by the reviewers for content, methodology etc. Peer reviewed materials are very significant to the research in most academic fields because they represent reliable scholarship which advances the knowledge in the discipline.