This is the "Applied Behavior Analysis (ABA)" page of the "Applied Behavior Analysis" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Applied Behavior Analysis   Tags: behavior, psychology  

This page provides a look at key resources for anyone interested in applied behavior analysis (ABA). Many of these resources are pertinent to students in the FMHI ABA graduate program.
Last Updated: Jan 27, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.usf.edu/aba Print Guide Email Alerts

Applied Behavior Analysis (ABA) Print Page
  Search: 
 

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Claudia J. Dold
Contact Info
MHC 1744
Louis de la Parte Florida Mental Health Institute Research Library
813-974-7040
Send Email
 

What is Applied Behavior Analysis?

Baer, Wolf, and Risley's 1968 article [1] is the standard description of Applied Behavior Analysis (ABA). ABA is the "process of applying sometimes tentative principles of behavior to the improvement of specific behaviors, and simultaneously evaluating whether or not any changes noted are indeed attributable to the process of application -- and if so, to what parts of that process." In short, ABA is a "self-examining, self-evaluating, discovery-oriented research procedure for studying behavior" (p. 91).


[1]

Baer, D.M., Wolf, M.M., Risley, T.R. (1968). "Some current dimensions of applied behavior analysis". Journal of Applied Behavior Analysis 1 (1): 91–97. doi:10.1901/jaba.1968.1-91 http://www.pubmedcentral.nih.gov/articlerender.fcgi?pubmedid=16795165

 

Key Resources

Be sure to look at the Instructional Videos, accessed from the FMHI Library LibGuide! http://lib.usf.edu/fmhi/instructional-videos/

PsycINFO (EBSCO) is an electronic bibliographic database providing abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. The database includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. Updated weekly, PsycINFO® provides access to journal articles, books, chapters, and dissertations.

Medline® (ProQuest) covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Information is indexed from approximately 3,900 journals published world-wide. Medline is updated weekly.

PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, includes over 15 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's. Updated weekly, PubMEd includes all citations in MEDLINE and a number of additional life science journals not indexed in Medline. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources. One such site is PubMedCentral, the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.

For more information, please feel free to contact me at http://lib.usf.edu/fmhi/contact-us/

 

ABA

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip