A Guide to Databases available from the USF Library
- Biography in Context (formerly Biography Resource Center)
A comprehensive database of biographical information on more than one million people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.
- Biography Reference Bank (EBSCO)
Includes biographical information on half a million people from antiquity to present. Biography Reference Bank is searchable by name, profession, birth place, and birth and death years.
- Biography Index Past and Present (EBSCO)
Indexes articles and books, autobiographies, bibliographies, biographies, critical studies, fiction, drama, pictorial works, poetry, juvenile literature, obituaries, journals, collections of letters, book reviews, and interviews. Each record contains a bibliographic citation and library holdings.
- Literature Resource Center
LRC provides access to Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, and Contemporary Literary Criticism Select. Covers authors of fiction, non-fiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism.
- Biography and Genealogy Master Index
Biography and Genealogy Master Index indexes current, easily accessible references sources, as well as important retrospective works that cover individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world.
- African American Biographical Database
Biographical information on African Americans, including obituary files, slave narrative collections, photographs, and illustrations.
- Something About the Author
Includes over 12,000 entries on authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults.
- Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
An illustrated collection of more than 57,000 biographies of the men and women from around the world who shaped all aspects of Britain's past. Includes biographies of current and historical figures.
- Chambers Biographical Dictionary
International, historical, and contemporary coverage of the arts, science, technology, sport, politics, philosophy and business.
- American Men and Women of Science
A biographical dictionary of 120,000 physical and biological scientists. There is also a comprehensive index listing scientists by field and by state.
- Writer's Directory 2005
Biographical, bibliographical, and contact information for approximately 20,000 living authors worldwide who have at least one English publication.
- Palgrave-Macmillan Dictionary of Women's Biography
Historical and contemporary coverage of influential women from around the world.