Wearin' o' the Green
Images
At USFBy BoucicaultRelated MaterialsArticles
This is the "Home" page of the "Dion Boucicault Theatre Collection at the University of South Florida" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Dion Boucicault Theatre Collection at the University of South Florida   Tags: 19th_century, boucicault, dion_boucicault, shaughraun, theatre  

A guide to the USF Tampa Library's physical and digital collections of materials related to the theatrical career of Dion Boucicault.
Last Updated: Sep 27, 2012 URL: http://guides.lib.usf.edu/boucicault Print Guide Email Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Introduction

Dion Boucicault (1820-1890) was a prolific and innovative playwright, actor, producer, manager, and director of the 19th century English-speaking stage.  With astonishing energy, he wrote, acted in, directed, and produced literally scores of plays, 250 by his own reckoning. (more)

The USF Tampa Library’s Dion Boucicault Theatre Collection is one of the largest public collections of Boucicault materials in the world, purchased from his widow, Josephine Cheney Boucicault.  The physical collection consists of approximately 781 items, including printed and manuscript play scripts, stage directions, letters, and musical scores. The collection also includes set design sketches, prompt books, photographs, and select musical segments.

Most of USF's materials related to Boucicault’s The Shaughraun have been digitized and are available online. The digital collection includes promptbooks (one handwritten), photographs, scene etchings, programs, a bibliography, and an essay on the play by USF Professor Nancy Cole.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip