USF Shimberg Health Sciences Library

Nursing Databases & Tutorials

REMEMBER, if you are logging on to a Shimberg Library database or e-book from off campus or through wireless access, you will be prompted for your USF/Healthnet user ID and password.

Nursing Databases

Best Bet Databases

Access to nursing and allied health journals, books, legal cases, research instruments, standards of practice, and clinical trials.

The primary database for biomedical and health sciences abstracts, including MEDLINE, with links to Shimberg Library full-text articles.

Access to international biomedical and pharmocologic literature from over 90 countries, including over 2,700 journals unique to EMBASE. Non-USF Health patrons click here.

Current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 12,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.

Access to peer-reviewed literature from scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings. Scopus also includes extensive journal metrics and author profiles.

Additional Databases

Database of systematic reviews and protocols specific to the health sciences. Includes Database of Systematic Reviews, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness, Controlled Trials Register, and Review Methodology, Technology Assessments and Economic Evaluations. Non USF Health users click here.

DynaMed is a clinical reference tool created by physicians for physicians and other healthcare professionals for use at the point-of-care. Non USF Health users click here.

Contains information about FDA-approved indications, off-label uses, pharmacokinetic data, safety information, pharmacology, and monitoring. Includes AHFS Drug Information.

Databases of summaries and detailed monographs for drugs and drug interactions. Also includes tools on Drug Interactions, Drug Identification, IV Compatability, Drug Comparisons, and RED BOOK online.

Covers the professional academic literature in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. Coverage is worldwide and includes references and abstracts to over 2,500 journals and to dissertations in over 30 languages, and to book chapters and books in the English language. Over 50,000 references added annually. Popular literature is excluded. This database is updated online weekly.

Contains information on currently published as well as discontinued periodicals. Includes magazines, journals, newsletters, newspapers, conference proceedings, and electronic publications.

Tutorials

Brief instructions on navigating the Shimberg Library web page.

Screencast tutorial demonstrating navigation of CINAHL search interface and elements of search strategy development. [Note: The access portion of this video is a little dated. Now to get to the CINAHL database, just click on the CINAHL link under Frequently Used Resources, A-Z Resource List, or Nursing LibGuide and authenticate. You no longer have to click on the publisher's icon.]

Links to Flash and YouTube tutorials showing you all you need to know to search CINAHL. From EBSCO.

Screencast tutorial demonstrating navigation of PubMed search interface and elements search strategy development. [Note: The access portion of this video is a little dated. Now to get to the CINAHL database, just click on the CINAHL link under Frequently Used Resources, A-Z Resource List, or Nursing LibGuide and authenticate. You no longer have to click on the publisher's icon.]

Created and published by the National Library of Medicine

Introduction to Shimberg Library and Search

Slide show presentation introducing Shimberg Library web page and intro to search in CINAHL, PubMed, and FindIt!

Boolean Searching

Boolean Matrix Download