The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality's (AHRQ) mission is to produce evidence to make health care safer, higher quality, more accessible, equitable, and affordable, and to work within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and with other partners to make sure that the evidence is understood and used.
Designed to help nurses provide evidence-based care that promotes quality health outcomes for individuals, families, communities and health care systems. It includes an introduction to research and evidence-based practice and provides features that assist nurses in shaping health policy at the bedside, within an organization, and at the local, state and national level. Only members can log in and have access to a research repository with reviews of research articles.
A family of health data resource products that draw from an extensive county-level database assembled annually from
over 50 sources. The AHRF products include county and state ASCII files, an MS Access
database, an AHRF Mapping Tool and Health Resources Comparison Tools (HRCT).
CDC WONDER provides the user with a mechanism to search for and read published documents on public health concerns, including reports, recommendations and guidelines, articles and statistical research data published by CDC, as well as reference materials and bibliographies on health-related topics.
Science-based national objectives for improving the health of all Americans. Includes evidence-based resources that analyze and appraise interventions and strategies for improving the health of your community.
The Linus Pauling Institute investigates the role that vitamins and essential minerals (micronutrients) and chemicals from plants (phytochemicals) play in human aging, immune function, and chronic disease. The goal of these studies is to understand the mechanisms by which diet, micronutrients, and dietary supplements affect disease initiation and progression and can be used in the prevention or treatment of human diseases, thereby enhancing lifespan and healthspan.
The NGC mission is to provide physicians and other health professionals, health care providers, health plans, integrated delivery systems, purchasers, and others an accessible mechanism for obtaining objective, detailed information on clinical practice guidelines and to further their dissemination, implementation, and use. Excellent source of clinical practice guidelines for clinicians, instructors and students.
The mission of the National Institute of Nursing Research (NINR) is to promote and improve the health of individuals, families, and communities. To achieve this mission, NINR supports and conducts clinical and basic research and research training on health and illness, research that spans and integrates the behavioral and biological sciences, and that develops the scientific basis for clinical practice.
The Global Health Observatory (GHO) provides data and analyses on global health priorities. GHO highlights information on various global health themes and trends using core indicators, database views, major publications and links to relevant web pages.