The nation's premier system of health-related telephone surveys that collect state data about U.S. residents regarding their health-related risk behaviors, chronic health conditions, and use of preventive services.
The mission of BioLINCC is to facilitate access to, and maximize the scientific value of, the Biorepository and Data Repository and promote the availability and use of other National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute (NHLBI) funded population-based biospecimen and data resources.
TL: CDC WONDER provides the user with a mechanism to search for and read published documents on public health concerns, including reports, recommendations and guidelines, articles and statistical research data published by CDC, as well as reference materials and bibliographies on health-related topics.
This project uses Medicare data to provide information and analysis about national, regional, and local markets, as well as hospitals and their affiliated physicians. This research has helped policymakers, the media, health care analysts and others improve their understanding of our health care system.
A repository for selected CDC data that can be visualized and syndicated to external sites. While most of this data is already available through various other CDC websites and applications, Data.CDC.gov provides a central way to search and discover data and allows for visualizations (e.g., charts, maps, and filtered views), and syndication. The Data.CDC.gov team is actively working to collect and offer more data on the site to aid in the increased use and distribution of health-related data.
This site is dedicated to making high value health data more accessible to entrepreneurs, researchers, and policy makers in the hopes of better health outcomes for all. In addition to publishing brand-new data, the focus is on making existing data much easier for developers to use -- i.e., by making it machine-readable, downloadable and accessible via application programming interfaces -- while rigorously protecting privacy and confidentiality.
The University of Michigan Health and Retirement Study (HRS) is a longitudinal panel study that surveys a representative sample of approximately 20,000 Americans over the age of 50 every two years. Supported by the National Institute on Aging (NIA U01AG009740) and the Social Security Administration, the HRS explores the changes in labor force participation and the health transitions that individuals undergo toward the end of their work lives and in the years that follow.
Health Data Interactive presents tables with national health statistics for infants, children, adolescents, adults, and older adults. Tables can be customized by age, gender, race/ethnicity, and geographic location to explore different trends and patterns.
It provides pre-tabulated national, state, and local health indicators, reflecting multiple dimensions of population health, health care, and health determinants. The HIW also contains supporting descriptive data to facilitate understanding and appropriate use of the indicators, as well as links to evidence-based interventions.
The Minnesota Population Center (MPC) is one of the world’s leading developers of demographic data resources. It provides population data to thousands of researchers, policymakers, teachers, and students. All MPC data are available free over the internet.
A collaborative project of the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) and the National Institute on Aging (NIA). It is a multi-cohort study of persons 70 years of age and over designed primarily to measure changes in the health, functional status, living arrangements, and health services utilization of two cohorts of Americans as they move into and through the oldest ages.
A product of the Shaping Long-Term Care in America Project being conducted at the Brown University Center for Gerontology and Healthcare Research and supported, in part, by the National Institute on Aging. The website hosts data regarding the health and functional status of nursing home residents, characteristics of care facilities, state policies relevant to long term care services and financing, and data characterizing the markets in which facilities exist and, in the future, we plan to expand to include information about other sectors of the long-term care system.
The Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS) is a set of large-scale surveys of families and individuals, their medical providers, and employers across the United States. MEPS is the most complete source of data on the cost and use of health care and health insurance coverage.
The first patient-reported outcomes measure used in Medicare managed care. The goal of the Medicare HOS program is to gather valid and reliable clinically meaningful data that has many uses. Managed care plans with Medicare Advantage (MA) contracts must participate.
A program of studies designed to assess the health and nutritional status of adults and children in the United States. This survey combines personal interviews with standardized physical examinations, diagnostic procedures, and laboratory tests to obtain information about diagnosed and undiagnosed conditions; growth and development, including overweight and obesity; diet and nutrition; risk factors; and environmental exposures.
The National Health Care Surveys are designed to answer key questions of interest to health care policy makers, public health professionals, and researchers. These can include the factors that influence the use of health care resources, the quality of health care, including safety, and disparities in health care services provided to population subgroups in the United States.
The National Health Interview Survey (NHIS) is the principal source of information on the health of the civilian non-institutionalized population of the United States and is one of the major data collection programs of the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS). The main objective of the NHIS is to monitor the health of the United States population through the collection and analysis of data on a broad range of health topics.
The National Immunization Surveys are a group of phone surveys used to monitor vaccination coverage among children 19-35 months, teens 13-17 years, and flu vaccinations for children 6 months-17 years. The surveys are sponsored and conducted by the National Center for Immunization and Respiratory Diseases (NCIRD) of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and authorized by the Public Health Service Act [Sections 306]. The National Immunization Surveys are run by NORC at the University of Chicago (http://www.norc.org/) under the direction of CDC.
A longitudinal study of a nationally representative sample of adolescents in grades 7-12 in the United States during the 1994-95 school year. Add Health studies how social environments and behaviors in adolescence are linked to health and achievement outcomes in young adulthood.
The survey provides a broad range of information about children’s health and well-being collected in a standardized manner that allows comparisons across states as well as comparisons to the nation. It also serves to complement the National Survey of Children with Special Health Care Needs (NS-CSHCN) by providing data on the health of the general U.S. child population.
The National Survey of Family Growth (NSFG) gathers information on family life, marriage and divorce, pregnancy, infertility, use of contraception, and men's and women's health. The survey results are used by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and others to plan health services and health education programs, and to do statistical studies of families, fertility, and health.
The NIH Research Portfolio Online Reporting Tools provides access to reports, data, and analyses of NIH research activities, including information on NIH expenditures and the results of NIH supported research.
PRAMS provides data not available from other sources about pregnancy and the first few months after birth. This data can be used to identify groups of women and infants at high risk for health problems, to monitor changes in health status, and to measure progress towards goals in improving the health of mothers and infants.
The Center for Behavioral Health Statistics and Quality (CBHSQ) promotes the access and use of the nation's substance abuse and mental health data through the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Data Archive (SAMHDA). SAMHDA provides public-use data files, file documentation, and access to restricted-use data files to support a better understanding of this critical area of public health.
The Surveillance, Epidemiology, and End Results (SEER) Program of the National Cancer Institute (NCI) currently collects and publishes cancer incidence, prevalence, and survival data from population-based cancer registries covering approximately 28 percent of the U.S. population. The SEER registries routinely collect data on patient demographics, primary tumor site, tumor morphology, stage at diagnosis, and first course of treatment, and they follow up with patients for vital status. The SEER Program is the only comprehensive source of population-based information in the United States that includes stage of cancer at the time of diagnosis and patient survival data. It provides the greatest longevity for population-based cancer statistics in the United States, having begun with nine registries in 1973.
A federal and research institution collaboration to create a repository of data and tools that will be useful to assess the impact of federal R&D investments. The National Institutes of Health (NIH) and the National Science Foundation (NSF), under the auspices of Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP), are leading this project.
Conducted in 2011 as a follow-up to the 2009/10 National Survey of Children with Special Health Care Needs (NS-CSHCN). Pathways is a nationally representative survey of parents about children age 6-17 years who were identified by the 2009/10 NS-CSHCN as ever being diagnosed with autism spectrum disorder (ASD), developmental delay (DD), or intellectual disability (ID).
CDC’s WISQARS™ (Web-based Injury Statistics Query and Reporting System) is an interactive, online database that provides fatal and nonfatal injury, violent death, and cost of injury data from a variety of trusted sources. Researchers, the media, public health professionals, and the public can use WISQARS™ data to learn more about the public health and economic burden associated with unintentional and violence-related injury in the United States.
The GHO data repository contains an extensive list of indicators, which can be selected by theme or through a multi-dimension query functionality. It is the World Health Organization's main health statistics repository.