USF Home | USF Directory | myUSF

Copyright

Information concerning copyright (and copywrongs)

Streaming in the online classroom

The USF library provides a robust collection of online videos and databases that can be located via the USF libraries’ catalog.  A list of the databases and collections can be found in our Images, Video and Audio guide:  Streaming Video.

These materials may be linked to your Canvas course directly or by requesting the title for your online course reserves. 

What if I want to stream a video that is not in the library collection?

If the library does not have access to a video that best fits an instructor’s pedagogical needs, the instructor has a number of other options for providing the material to her students.  If the video is found online, the instructor can link to the video; linking is not copying.  Section 110(2) of copyright law, otherwise known as the TEACH Act, outlines other ways that a video may be connected to and used in online courses, if a search for an available online copy to license or purchase is unfruitful (see the T.E.A.C.H. Act Checklist linked below).

For help determining if you can use a video in your online class within the terms of the TEACH Act, please feel free to contact your librarian or obtain legal advice from USF General Counsel.

The T.E.A.C.H. Act

The “Technology, Education, and Copyright Harmonization Act,” or “TEACH Act,” added to copyright law as Section 110(2) in 2002, outlines how educators may use copyrighted works in their online classes.  It includes a sizeable list of conditions that must all be satisfied in order to adhere to the law.

The USF Tampa library has created a checklist to help you determine if your use of media in your distanced courses fits within the conditions of the TEACH Act.  Please feel free to contact your librarian with questions or for help with the checklist, or obtain legal advice from USF General Counsel.