USF Home | USF Directory | myUSF

Research ToolsGuidesLibrary ServicesSpecial CollectionsHelpAbout

Women's and Gender Studies

Key Resources

To find articles in journals use the databases available thru the USF Library homepage.  Here are the key databases for Women's Studies.
American Women's History Online
This database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. These diverse collections range from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to interviews with women engineers from the 1970s.
 
A full-text collection of international journals,magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports and conference proceedings devoted to women's and gender issues. The database provides in-depth coverage of the subjects that are uniquely central to women's daily lives,including family, childbirth, birth control, daycare, domestic abuse, work and the workplace, sexual harassment, aging, aging parents, body image, eating disorders and social and societal roles. It also includes content on the impact of gender and gender roles on areas such as: the arts, popular culture and media, business and work, crime and criminology, education, research and scholarship, family, health care and medicine, politics, policy and legislation, pornography, religion, sexuality and sexology, sports and leisure.
 
Social Work Abstracts
Social work abstracts plus provides two unique databases in one subscription: Social work abstracts and the Register of clinical social workers. Social work abstracts contains information on the fields of social work and human services from 1977 to present.

 
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
This Worldwide Web site is intended to serve as a resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, the website seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding at the same time that it makes the insights of women's history accessible to teachers and students at universities, colleges, and high schools.
Explores women's roles in the United States economy between the Civil War and the Great Depression.  Includes 2,250 books, 1,000 photographic images and 10,000 pages from manuscript collections.