USF Home | USF Directory | myUSF

Research ToolsGuidesLibrary ServicesSpecial CollectionsHelpAbout

Women's and Gender Studies

Other databases

The following databases are also useful for finding journal articles on Women's Studies topics.

 

Art Full Text

Art Full Text is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world. Full-text coverage for selected periodicals is also included. Periodical coverage includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Japanese, Spanish, Dutch, and Swedish. In addition to articles, Art Full Text indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals. Indexing coverage begins 1984; abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. The abstracts range from 50 to 300 words and describe the content and scope of the source articles. Full-text coverage begins in 1997.

 Current Contents

Current Contents is a weekly table-of-contents database which presents the contents pages of current issues of the world's scholarly and technical journals, books, and proceedings literature.

 Education Full Text

Education Full Text brings you comprehensive coverage of an international range of English-language periodicals, monographs and yearbooks. Full text of articles cover to cover, from hundreds of journals, make this a one-stop source for research.

 Expanded Academic ASAP

From arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology, this database meets research needs across all academic disciplines. Access scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers--many with full text and images

Humanities Full Text

Humanities Full Text brings you full text plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines. The database indexes, abstracts and delivers the full text of feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, drama, and poetry, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, radio and television programs, and more. High quality indexing of periodicals as far back as 1984. In-depth abstracts of 50 to 150 words let users know instantly if a cited article is useful to their research. Full text of articles from journals as far back as 1995. Search using the Wilson subject thesaurus developed specifically for this database. Up-to-date subject headings keep pace with the latest topics in the visual, performing, and literary arts. Graphical content adds a key dimension to research - PDF page images accompany full text articles, offering both words and images. Search by keyword, subject, personal names, title words, publication, year, type of article or any combination, to find exactly what you need. Daily updates bring users current information.

MLA Bibliography

The MLA international bibliography indexes journal articles, books and dissertations in the areas of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory and criticism, rhetoric and composition, dramatic arts, and the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920's and contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers. The indexed materials coverage is international and includes almost 60 titles from JSTOR's language and literature collection as well as links to full text. This database includes journal abbreviations and acronyms for almost 3,500 titles.

PsychInfo (EBSCO)

Covers the professional academic literature in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. Coverage is worldwide, and includes references and abstracts to over 1,300 journals and to dissertations in over 30 languages, and to book chapters and books in the English language. Over 50,000 references added annually. Popular literature is excluded.

Social Sciences Full Text

Access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the U.S. and elsewhere with full text and page images from scores of key publications, plus abstracting and indexing of hundreds of others. A resource for a wide variety of users from students to social workers, Social Sciences Full Text covers the latest concepts, trends, opinions, theories, and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences. High quality indexing of periodicals as far back as 1983. In-depth abstracts of 50 to 150 words - written by professionals with backgrounds in the social sciences - let users know instantly if a cited article is useful to their research. Full text of articles from journals as far back as 1995. Search using the Wilson subject thesaurus developed specifically for this database. Up-to-date subject headings keep pace with today's changing issues, concepts, trends, opinions, theories, and methods. Graphical content adds a key dimension to research - PDF page images accompany full text articles, offering both words and images. Search by keyword, subject, personal names, title words, publication, year, type of article or any combination, to find exactly what you need. Daily updates bring users current information.

Sociological Abstracts

Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides citations from 1963 to the present to journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Records for journal articles added after 1974 contain in-depth abstracts.

 Web of Science Citation

The ISI Web of Science provides seamless access to the Science Citation Expanded®, Social Sciences Citation Index®, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index™. It enables users to search current and r etrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. ISI Web of Science also provides a unique search method, cited reference searching. With it, users can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines and time spans to uncover all the information relevant to their research. Users can also navigate to electronic full-text journal articles.