USF Home | USF Directory | myUSF

Research ToolsGuidesLibrary ServicesSpecial CollectionsHelpAbout

Film Studies

A guide to sources for film criticism, movie reviews and scripts

BEST BETS

American Film Scripts Online
Copyrighted screenplays from major film studios are included in this database.  Extending back to silent films to the present, search by scenes, characters and people related to the scripts.

Annenberg Online Media Collection
A multi-disciplinary database with classroom and lifelong learning videos.

Film Index International
Use Film Index International to locate entertainment films and actors from silent movies to art house classics to the latest popular movies world-wide.

IMDb
The International Movie Database is a popular source of information about movies, TV and celebrity content.

International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers
Covers films and filmmakers, including legendary films, actors and actresses, directors, writers and other production artists. Entries include biographies; filmographies; comprehensive credits; major awards; and updated bibliographies, as well as photographs.

Kanopy
This video service provides access to thousands of videos from documentaries, movies and training videos.

RogerEbert.com: Movies and More
Film reviews from movie critic Roger Ebert.

Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film
This source provides an historical introduction and survey to film and film studies as a comprehensive  introduction to film and film studies.  It covers production, national traditions, studios, genres, critical theory and film history.

Scripts
Search for movie scripts, screenplays and transcripts from writers from around the world.  Use keywords or name of the script to search.