REMEMBER, if you are logging on to a Shimberg Library database from off campus or through wireless access, you will be prompted for your USF/Healthnet user ID and password. PLEASE NOTE: some resources are available only to members of USF Health.
Academic Search Premier, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,650 serials, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 8,200 journals in the collection. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer science, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. The majority of full text titles are available in searchable PDF, or scanned-in-color. This database is updated on a daily basis.
The general purpose of ACP Journal Club is to select published articles, according to explicit criteria, and abstract those studies and reviews that should receive immediate attention by physicians aiming to stay current with important advances in their field. These articles are summarized in "value-added" abstracts and commented on by clinical experts. The ACP Journal Club database is a convenient electronic way to stay on top of your journal reading. Journals are reviewed according to a priority list. All issues of the following "core" journals are reviewed: American Journal of Medicine, Annals of Internal Medicine, Archives of Internal Medicine , BMJ, Circulation, Diabetes Care, JAMA, Journal of General Internal Medicine, Journal of Internal Medicine, Lancet,and New England Journal of Medicine. Other journals are reviewed as space permits, as announced in each issue.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments provides ready access to information on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/ manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science. HaPI assists researchers, practitioners, educators, administrators, and evaluators, including students, to identify measures needed for research studies, grant proposals, client/patient assessment, class papers/projects, theses/dissertations, and program evaluation. By creating an organized resource of previously unavailable measurement information, HaPI: (a) provides a means of locating a variety of instruments, (b) helps to reduce inefficiency and cost, and (c) eliminates duplication and "reinvention of the wheel." -- 5 Simultaneous Users
This database enables neuroscientists to keep abreast of major advances within the field and their implications for other medical specialties. The database covers all aspects of vertebrate and invertebrate neuroscience, emphasizing basic research but also including such devastating neural diseases as Alzheimer's. -- Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
WorldCat database is the OCLC online union catalog. It contains over 50 million biblliographic records describing resources cataloged by OCLC member libraries around the world. -- Simultaneous Users: Unlimited