View Librarian Profile
Ask a Librarian

Attention RefWorks Users!

RefWorks  has moved to a new platform. You can opt to transition to New RefWorks immediately by logging into your legacy RefWorks account and clicking “move to the newest version of RefWorks” link at the top of the screen.

 

You can maintain both Legacy and New RefWorks accounts in parallel, however, there is no synchronization between the two tools: these are separate tools with different logins. Do not  migrate  to the new RefWorks while currently on a deadline or working a project using Write-N-Cite. Papers started in Legacy RefWorks will not be compatible with New RefWorks. Users should maintain their references in their Legacy RefWorks accounts until they complete their work.

For more information contact Susan Silver (ssilver@usf.edu or 813-974-9871) 

RefWorks

Announcement

Refworks will be undergoing maintenance on May 9, 2020 for up to 12 hours. This includes (new) RefWorks and Legacy RefWorks

 

 

Annoucement

The USF LIbraries will be cancelling our subscription to the RefWorks citation manager due to unsustainably increasing subscription costs and a decreasing number of users. We will have access to RefWorks until January 1, 2021, ensuring that all of our RefWorks users have time to choose and migrate to another citation manager.

Instructions for migrating your RefWorks library to another citation manager are posted under the Migrating to Another Citation Manager tab.  If you have questions about transferring your RefWorks library, please contact Susan Silver at ssilver@usf.edu or 813-974-9871

Introduction to RefWorks

What is RefWorks?

RefWorks is a web-based bibliography and database manager that allows you to create a personal, searchable database of citations. These citations can be formatted into your Microsoft Word documents as footnotes or a custom bibliography.

Because it is entirely web-based (i.e. the bibliographic records reside on the web, not on your computer), it gives you access to your bibliographies from Mac, PC, or UNIX, as long as it’s connected to the Internet. To be safe, be sure to backup files. RefWorks also offers a mobile platform.

Currently, RefWorks is available using two platforms, Legacy RefWorks and New Refworks. New RefWorks was released in January 2016. Users may migrate at their own pace. The legacy version will remain available indefinitely, however it is no longer being updated. For more information about the transition visit the Transitioning to the New RefWorks page.

NOTE: Legacy RefWorks may ask for a group code when accessing your account from off campus. The group code is RWUSouthFlor