- University of South Florida Libraries
- LibGuides
- Course Guides
- ARH 4800/ARH 6798: Kandinsky's Abstraction
- Art & Art History Databases
ARH 4800/ARH 6798: Kandinsky's Abstraction
Art & Art History Databases
Search the following ART databases to identify books, book chapters, and journal articles. You will obtain information about each publishers and dates of publications, journals in which each article was published, an abstract ( a brief description about the article) and, in some cases, the full-text of the article. Click on the icon next to the database name to get more information about each database.
- ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM)Abstracts and citations for articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews on modern and contemporary art. Coverage: 1974-present.
- Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and Repertoire international de la litterature de l'art (RILA)This citation index covers European and American art and architecture from late antiquity to the present. Art and architecture related books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and exhibition catalogs. Coverage: 1974-2009.
- International Bibliography of Art (IBA)IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA), and retains the editorial policies which made BHA one of the most trusted and frequently consulted sources in the field. The database includes records created by the Getty Research Institute in 2008-09, with new records created by ProQuest using the same thesaurus and authority files.
- Art & Architecture SourceAbstracts, citations, and some full text for books and journals in fine art, architecture, design, decorative and commercial art, etc. Coverage from 1921 forward.
- KubikatCombines the library catalogs for German art history research institutes in Florence, Munich, Paris, and Rome. These catalogs are especially useful because they also index major journals and books.
Finding the Full Article
Many of the article databases listed in this guide will provide direct links to the full article being indexed. If
the full article is available online through another source you can find it by clicking on one of the following
links:
The Find It @ USF button will direct you to the full text in another database, the Library Catalog to check for
print holdings, or Interlibrary Loan to borrow it from another library.
Journals at USF
Search the USF Libraries Catalog to identify journals owned by the Library electronically and in print.
If you know the name of the journal, in a Basic search put in the name of the journal and select Journal
Title.
If you don't know the the name of a journal title, go to Advanced Search. Type the subject or topic, select
ANYWHERE and/or SUBJECT HEADING and select next to Location: USF Library Tampa
Periodicals
or
next to Format: Journal. (A subject heading search will yield more precise results).
You can identify an electronic journal if it is in the online catalog as a EJournal
or you can search it in EJournals
(Research Tools > Resources > EJournals).