TPA3008: Introduction to Design II

This guide will help you locate the libary sources for your project.

RESEARCH TERMS

WHAT IS A/AN...

Annotation?
An annotation is a brief description of the item you found that is useful for your research.

Bibliography?
A bibliography is a list of citations used by the author.  Citations listed in bibliographies can be used to locate other sources.

Citation?
citation represents a source used by an author when writing a book or an article.  The citation is written in a standard format so that the reader can recognize what the items, or source is, and can locate it, i.e. book, journal article, interview, image, etc.

Citation style?
citation style is a standard format a author used to describe the sources he or she used in their research. Several standard styles are MLA, APA style and Chicago Style which is what you will be using.  See the tab for Citing Your Sources.

Database?
database is an organized set of data in a computer that can be searched to locate information.

Scholarly Book?
scholarly book is written by an expert or researcher in the field and can be cited in other books and journal articles.  The publisher is a scholarly publisher such as a university or college press, 

Scholarly journal article?
A scholarly journal article also known as a peer-reviewed journal article is a research article written by an expert in the field.  The article explains the research process and the findings of the research. When a article is published in a scholarly or peer-reviewed journal it means that the article has been reviewed by other experts in the field and assures the reader that the article is based on sound research methodologies.  It is an excellent resource for information about the topic and the bibliography  an be used to locate other relevant sources.

Thesaurus?
thesaurus in a database provides the correct terminology to use for a subject or concept.  Using words from a thesaurus or Subject Terms will give you more precise search results.Scholarly or Peer-Reviewed Journal Article?