Welcome to the Classics Subject Guide. Use this guide to conduct research in a wide range of topics related to classical studies. Below are some useful databases for Classics Research Available at USF.
- Thesaurus Linguae Graecae
TLG has collected and digitized most literary texts written in Greek from Homer to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453.
- L'Année Philologique
L'Annee Philologique is an index of publications related to the history, language, literature and civilization of ancient Greece and Rome. It includes articles, festschriften, dissertations, and conference papers.
- JSTOR Classical Studies
A full-text database of the back issues of core journals relating to the field of Classical Studies.
- Brill's New Jacoby
Jacoby Online presents a completely new edition of “Jacoby” — byword for one of the fundamental modern sources of classical scholarship — in a fully searchable and indexed online format.
- Oxford Scholarship Online - Classical Studies
Find books and articles to help you with your research on topics across the classics discipline.
- Past Masters' Index
Intelex's Past Masters series is one of the largest collections of full-text electronic editions in philosophy. It includes full-text of works by Aristotle and Plato.
ARTstor is a digital library of approximately 700,000 images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. Includes images relevant to Classical Studies.
- Brill Online Books and Journals -- Classical Studies
Brill Online Books and Journals is among the richest scholarly sources of its kind, with the full text of nearly 300 book chapters and journal articles in the field of Classics.
- Oxford Classical Dictionary
For almost half a century, The Oxford Classical Dictionary has been regarded as the unrivalled one-volume reference work on all aspects of the Graeco-Roman world. It provides both scholars and non-specialists with a comprehensive source of reference which aims to answer all their questions about the classical world
- Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture
The Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture is the most current and comprehensive reference resource for the visual arts of the Classical period. It features an abundance of in-depth articles on this field of enduring importance—from biographies to thematic entries on architecture, ceramics, metalwork, mosaics, painting and sculpture.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome offers a comprehensive overview of the major cultures of the classical Mediterranean world—Greek, Hellenistic, and Roman—from the Bronze Age to the fifth century CE. It also covers the legacy of the classical world and its interpretation and influence in subsequent centuries.