School of Humanities WindowSchool of Natural Sciences and Mathematics WindowSchool of Social Science Window
This is the "HOME" page of the "Collection Development" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Collection Development   Tags: cd, collection_development  

Identify the library representative from your department, collection development librarian, and collection development policy.
Last Updated: Mar 28, 2012 URL: http://guides.lib.usf.edu/collection-development Print Guide Email AlertsShareThis

HOME Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

USF Tampa Library

 

Suggest a Purchase

Click your college tab at the top of the page to access the collection development policy, subject librarian, and faculty representative for your discipline.

For any suggested purchases of all types (books, journals, videos, etc.), please fill out this form or contact Cheryl McCoy, Coordinator of Collections for the USF Tampa Library.

 

Collection Development Policies - USF Tampa Library

 

Developing Collections for the USF Tampa Library

At University of South Florida, Tampa Library, building library collections is a collaborative endeavor between librarians and faculty. The Subject Librarians, in collaboration with the Department Representatives, honor recommendations for acquisitions as funds permit.

Click on the appropriate College to locate your Subject Librarian, Faculty Representative, and Collection Development Policy.

For additional information send an electronic message to Cheryl McCoy, Coordinator of Collections, or contact the Collection Development office (LIB 015) at 813-974-3530 during regular business hours on Monday through Friday

 

Donating Books to the USF Tampa Library

ACCEPTANCE OF DONATED MATERIAL

Gifts are an important part of the University of South Florida Libraries’ Acquisitions Program. We receive numerous gifts, many of which are significant additions to our collections. The Library, therefore, is pleased to accept your donation.  Because the number of cataloged items in the Library has surpassed one million, the proper placement of a gift in the collection requires extensive research over a considerable period of time.

Gifts to the USF Library are:

  • Researched for best possible disposition, then
  • Retained for the Tampa Campus Library Collection, or
  • Placed in one of the regional campus library collections, or
  • Sold to create funds to purchase needed library materials, or
  • Discarded if not within the Libraries’ research mission

Procedure for Donating Books to the USF Libraries: 

Donations from Individual Donors:  Books from individual donors should be dropped off at the Circulation Desk, located on the first floor of the USF Tampa Library. A donor receipt for Acceptance of Donated Materials will be issued to the donor at this time

Donations from Faculty Members: For donations from USF Faculty Members or other individuals who are interested in donating scholarly works to the library, please contact Mark Greenberg, Director of Special & Digitized Collections, at 813-974-4141.

Donations of Sizable Collections: For larger collections, having research value in subject areas that match the mission of the library and the university, please contact Mark Greenberg, Director of Special & Digitized Collections, at 813-974-4141.  

Contact Us

    Electronic Resources
    Monica Metz-Wiseman

    eJournals/Periodicals
    Carol Ann Borchert

    Collections
    Cheryl McCoy

    Media Resources
    Rue McKenzie

    Reference Resources
    Susan Silver

      Government Documents
      Cheryl McCoy

                Special Collections
                Andy Huse

                Digital Collections
                Barbara Lewis

                Juvenile Collection
                Susan Ariew

                      
                     

                    USF Tampa Library Collection Development

                    The USF Tampa Library's Collection Management Office (LIB 015)  is located in the basement of the Tampa Library in the Academic Resources epartment.  

                    Faculty members who would like to make an appointment with Cheryl McCoy, Coordinator of Collections, may do so at any time during normal business hours - 8:00am - 5:00pm, Monday - Friday. Please contact the Coordinator of Collections to make an appointment.  

                    Cheryl S. McCoy, MLS  
                    Coordinator of Collections 
                     USF, Tampa Library  

                    office: LIB 015
                    voice: (813) 974-3530  
                    fax:   (813) 974-2296  
                     

                     

                    Description

                    Loading  Loading...

                    Tip