This is the "Otis R. Anthony African Americans in Florida OHP" page of the "Oral History Program" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Asaba Memorial Oral History ProjectCarlton-Anthony Tampa OHPColumbia RestaurantConcentration Camp Liberators Oral History ProjectFlorida Citrus IndustryFlorida Civil RightsFlorida Food FamiliesHolocaust & Genocide Survivors Oral History ProjectKarstLGBT Oral History ProjectOtis R. Anthony African Americans in Florida OHPShowmen's Oral History ProjectSpanish Civil WarTampa Arts and CultureTampa Mayor Sandy Freedman AdministrationUSF 25th AnniversaryUSF 50th AnniversaryWest Central Florida Land UseYbor City
Admin Sign In 

Oral History Program 

The USF Libraries Oral History Program
Last update: Feb 09th, 2010 URL: http://guides.lib.usf.edu/ohp  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Otis R. Anthony African Americans in Florida OHP            Print Page
  
 

Link to the Collection

Otis R. Anthony African Americans in Florida Oral History Project


Most of these oral histories were conducted between 1977 and 1978 as part of the Black History of Tampa Project, sponsored by the Tampa Urban League and the Hillsborough County Museum, under the direction of community activist Otis R. Anthony.  In 1994, Anthony donated the collection to the USF Department of Anthropology, to support its Central Avenue Legacies Project. The Department of Anthropology conducted additional interviews, focusing primarily on Central Avenue and the Afro-Cuban community.

This is an open collection with interviews from other sources, to which more content will be added over time.

Search the collection           Browse the collection

 

Florida Sentinel Bulletin Video Slide Show

Video Transcript

For more than 63 years the Florida Sentinel Bulletin has provided a record of daily life in Tampa Bay's African-American community. Because other newspapers in Tampa Bay rarely printed articles about the African-American community, in the early years of the publication of the Florida Sentinel Bulletin, this newspaper is often the only source for written news about this community in this period.

Throughout its history the Florida Sentinel Bulletin has covered the social, cultural, political, and religious life in Tampa Bay's African-American community and has provided particularly interesting articles on the role of women and on the community's transformation during the Civil Rights Movement in the 1950s and 1960s.

The USF Libraries Special & Digital Collections has holdings of the Florida Sentinel Bulletin from 1946 to the present. This collection is used extensively by researchers, scholars, and historians and is available at the University of South Florida Libraries in microfilm and print formats.


Loading Video Clip...
 

Oral Histories that include a discussion of the Florida Sentinel Bulletin

 

Otis R. Anthony African Americans in Florida Oral History Project

Interviewee

Interviewer(s)

System #

Listen

Lydia Lopez Allen Susan Greenbaum A31-00035   
Click here
Lydia Lopez Allen Susan Greenbaum A31-00070 Click here
C. Blythe Andrews
Otis R. Anthony and members of the Black History Research Project of Tampa A31-00004 Click here
Otis R. Anthony Andrew T. Huse A31-00087 Click here
Askia Muhammad Aquil Otis R. Anthony and members of the Black History Research Project of Tampa A31-00075 Click here
John Armwood Otis R. Anthony and members of the Black History Research Project of Tampa A31-00005 Click here
Rowena Ferrell Brady Ericka Burroughs A31-00007 Click here
Betty P. Brown Otis R. Anthony and members of the Black History Research Project of Tampa A31-00008 Click here
Grace Casamayor Cheryl Rodriguez and Susan Greenbau A31-00068 Click here
Bettye Davis Otis R. Anthony and members of the Black History Research Project of Tampa A31-00016 Click here
Mary Alice Dorsett Otis R. Anthony and members of the Black History Research Project of Tampa A31-00017 Click here
A.J. Ferrell Otis R. Anthony and members of the Black History Research Project of Tampa A31-00018 Click here
Georgette Gardner Otis R. Anthony and members of the Black History Research Project of Tampa A31-00021 Click here
James T. Hargrett Otis R. Anthony and members of the Black History Research Project of Tampa A31-00026 Click here
Clemmie Ross James Otis R. Anthony and members of the Black History Research Project of Tampa A31-00031 Click here
Warren Jolly Otis R. Anthony and members of the Black History Research Project of Tampa A31-00061 Click here
Francisco G. Lopez Susan Greenbaum and Cheryl Rodriguez A31-00034 Click here
Jesse J. Moore Otis R. Anthony and members of the Black History Research Project of Tampa A31-00059 Click here
Richard Rishard Otis R. Anthony and members of the Black History Research Project of Tampa A31-00045 Click here
Bea Rodriguez Ericka Burroughs and Ginger Baber A31-00046 Click here
Francisco A. Rodriguez Otis R. Anthony and members of the Black History Research Project of Tampa A31-00089 Click here
Robert W. Saunders Otis R. Anthony and members of the Black History Research Project of Tampa A31-00085 Click here
Ruben Taylor Otis R. Anthony and members of the Black History Research Project of Tampa A31-00086 Click here
Flora C. Williams Otis R. Anthony and members of the Black History Research Project of Tampa A31-00076 Click here

 

Florida Civil Rights Oral History Project

Interviewee

Interviewer(s)

System #

Listen

Clarence Fort Andrew T. Huse F55-00003 Click here
Clarence Fort Steven Lawson F55-00007 Click here
Robert W. Saunders Canter Brown F55-00001 Click here
Alton White Ericka Burroughs F55-00021 Click here
 

Images from the Burgert Brothers Photograph Collection

These photographs were retrieved by searching for "African Americans" in the USF Libraries Burgert Brothers Photograph Collection.  Use the links below to search and/or browse the entire collection in our digital image repository.

Search the collection       Browse the collection

Burgert Brothers: # 137
Afro-American Life Insurance Company; Tampa, Fla.; 1936

System #: B29-00039585
Burgert Brothers: # 138
Allen Temple A.M.E. Church, Tampa, Fla.; J.J. Heath Pastor
System
#: B29-00021577
Burgert Brothers: # 212
Blanche Armwood, (middle left) a famous Tampa educator
System
#: B29-00014207
Burgert Brothers # 346
Men working on a banana shipment at Port Tampa
System
#: B29-v-00002426
Burgert Brothers # 419
St. Paul's A.M.E. Church on Harrison and Marion Streets
System
#: B29-00051187
Burgert Brothers #550
The Intersection of Brevard Avenue, Grand Central Avenue, and Lafayette Street
System
#: B29-rel-00000135
Burgert Brothers #551
The Intersection of Central Avenue and Ross
System
#: B29-v-00001048
Burgert Brothers #552
The Intersection of Comanche Street and Central Avenue
System
#: B29-rel-00000165
 

Images from the Robertson and Fresh Collection of Tampa Photographs

These photographs were retrieved by searching for "African Americans" in the USF Libraries Robertson and Fresh Collection of Tampa Photographs.  Use the links below to search and/or browse the entire collection in our digital image repository.Examples of photos from the USF Libraries collections.

Search the collection            Browse the collection

A Local Tampa band
System #: R05-unk-00000211
A Military band performs on stage
System #: R05-z-00000259
A Military band performs on stage
System #: R05-z-00000261
A Jazz band ready for another set
System #: R05-00012951
A Night of fun at the Marti Maceo Patico
System #: R05-z-00005694
Inside the Watts Sanderson's Central Terrace Beer Garden
System #: R05-00016519
The Preacher and Choir at the Beulah Baptist Church
System #: R05-00016478
 

Additional Images from the Collection

 


 

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait