Course Guide for Marketing Management students
The following databases are "Best Bets" for finding Industry Information.
- ABI/INFORM Global
Search nearly 1800 worldwide business periodicals for in-depth coverage of business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more. Expanded international coverage. Fast access to information on 60,000 + companies with business and executive profiles. Now includes The Wall Street Journal.
- Business Insights: Essentials
B&CRC provides company profiles, company brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies, and industry news and information.
- Business Source Premier
The database provides full text articles from more than 2,300 journals. It also provides full text access to non-journal content: case studies , books , market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
IBISWorld produces America's largest collection of Industry Market Research Reports. The industry reports are regularly updated and contain key statistics and analysis.
- Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage
NetAdvantage covers markets, industries, stocks, bonds, and dividends as well as the S & P Analysis. The Industry Surveys are excellent sources of information on major industries. The link is on the right side of the opening page.
- Mergent Online
Mergent online provides U.S. and international company data including officers and directors. Includes the ability to search by SIC and NAICS codes
- Lexis Nexis Academic
Look at Company Dossier
- Reference USA
ReferenceUSA is an Internet-based reference service from the Library Division of infoUSA. The site was designed for use as a reference tool in libraries and is continually enhanced based upon suggestions from librarians and library patrons. The ReferenceUSA database contains, in module format, detailed information on more than 14 million U.S. businesses, 210 million U.S. residents, 855,000 U.S. health care providers, 1.5 million Canadian businesses, and 12 million Canadian households.
- MarketLine Advantage
includes company profile and industry analysis information. Also includes SWOT. Both U.S. and International coverage.
Gartner provides research, analysis, and interpretation of the business of information technology. Content includes market analysis, statistics, and forecasts; industry information on the following industries: banking and investment services, education, energy and utilities, government, healthcare providers, insurance, manufacturing, media, and retail; and critical issue reports that include: outsourcing, open source, emerging trends and technologies, mobile and wireless, and laptops and hand-held devices.
The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.
NAICS was developed under the auspices of the Office of Management and Budget (OMB), and adopted in 1997 to replace the Standard Industrial classification (SIC) system.