Subject Guide |
Get Librarian Help
- Ask A LibrarianCHAT HOURS, links to chat and email reference, consultation requests, library services desk, and telephone hours.
Article Databases
Use the databases listed below to find journal articles on your topic.
- Academic Search Premier Academic Search Premier is the world's largest scholarly, multidisciplinary full text database
- ATLA Religion DatabaseThe ATLA Religion Database is the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all scholarly fields of religion.
- Humanities Full Text Humanities Full Text provides access to the most important scholarly sources in the humanities.
- Social Sciences Full Text Social Sciences Full Text provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the U.S.
- Sociological Abstracts Sociological Abstracts provides access to journals in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
- Web of Science Web of Science provides access to the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.
Evaluating Journal Articles
- A Jury of My PeersA podcast providing information on peer-reviewed journals.
- Finding Peer-Reviewed Journal Articles (PDF)Finding peer-reviewed journal articles can sometimes be frustrating. This guide identifies databases that contain peer-reviewed articles and tells you how to limit your searches.
- Identifying Peer-Reviewed ArticlesThis PowerPoint tutorial offers information about accessing and identifying articles from academic journals that are peer-reviewed.
- Popular vs. Scholarly PeriodicalsThis short, three minute tutorial gives all the basics on evaluating journal articles and what to look for when identifying scholarly articles.
- Ulrich's Periodicals DirectoryUlrich's Periodicals Directory can help you determine if a journal if peer-reviewed.
Finding the Full Article
Many of the article databases listed in this guide will provide direct links to the full article being indexed. If the full article is available online through another source you can find it by clicking on one of the following links:

The Find It @ USF or SFX link will direct you to online full text, if it is available, or to the Library Catalog to check for print holdings.




Loading...
