DAN 4162: Research in Dance (Spring 2015)
Dance Databases
Search the following databases to identify articles published in journals. Obtain information about each article such as which journal the article was published in, an abstract (a brief description about the article), and/or the full-text of the article. Click on the icon next to the database name to get more information about each database.
- Dance Education Literature and Research Descriptive IndexThis resource indexes theses, dissertations, journal articles, conference proceedings, and more in the field of dance. Coverage: 1915 to present.
- International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full TextDefinitive source for full-text articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations on theatre and the performing arts.
- Performing Arts Periodicals DatabaseAbstracts and some full text for articles about the performing arts, including drama, theatre, dance, film, and television. Most full text from the past 10 years.
Multidisciplinary Databases
Search the following multidisciplinary databases to identify articles published in journals. Obtain information about each article such as which journal the article was published in, an abstract (a brief description about the article), and/or the full-text of the article. Click on the icon next to the database name to get more information about each database.
- Academic Search PremierMultidisciplinary full-text database with peer reviewed journals, magazines and other resources from 1975 forward.
- General OneFileMultidisciplinary database providing some full-text access to periodical and news information. 1980 to present.
- OmniFile Full Text Mega ExpandedMultidisciplinary database providing full text access and abstracts to materials in education, science, humanities, social sciences, and business. Full text coverage begins in 1994.
Newpaper Databases
- Access World NewsFull text news from national and international sources including specific information about local companies, politics, sports, industries and culture.
- New York Times Historical (1851-2012)Full text access to every issue of the New York Times published between 1851 and 2012.
- New York Times (ProQuest)Comprehensive coverage the New York Times newspaper from 1980 forward. Includes regional, national, and international news on politics, arts, sports, business, culture and current events. Full text for certain publications is subject to market availability.
Journals at USF
Search the USF Libraries Catalog to identify journals owned by the Library electronically and in print.
If you know the name of the journal, in a Basic search put in the name of the journal and select Journal Title.
If you don't know the name of a journal, go to Advanced Search. Type the subject or topic, select ANYWHERE and/or SUBJECT HEADING and in Location select USF Library - Tampa - Periodicals OR in Format select Journal.
You can identify an electronic journal if it is in the online catalog as a E-Journal or you can search for the title of the journal in E-Journals (Research Tools > E-Journals).
Finding the Full Text of an Article
Many of the article databases listed in this guide will provide direct links to the full text of the article. If the full article is not available in that database, you can maybe able to find the full text of the article in another database by clicking on the Find it @ USF button that looks like this:
The Find It @ USF button will direct you to the full text in another database, the Library Catalog to check for print holdings, or Interlibrary Loan to borrow it from another library.