Oral History Program (OHP)

Oral History Projects

USF Libraries Oral History projects resulted from partnerships with various individual researchers and organizations. They represent view points from a variety of individuals on a variety of subjects. More information on these partnerships can be found on the collection page for each project within our digital collection. For more information on using oral histories in your research, please see our page on "Using Our Collections" as well as our terms of use regarding oral histories:

USF Libraries Oral History Terms of Use
Terms of use information specific to the USF Libraries oral histories.

Environmental Studies and Sustainability

The allocation of non-renewable natural resources is a vital issue in the 21^st century. These oral histories explore global, urban, and environmental issues within a Florida context.

Audubon Florida Oral History Project
In this project funded by the Frank E. Duckwall Foundation, Dr. Ann Hodgson interviews Audubon managers, researchers, employees, and volunteers. This project is part of an effort to capture the collective memory of the organization and help contextualize Audubon Florida's archival collections.
Environmental Lands Acquisition and Protection Program Oral History Project
Since 1987, Hillsborough county voters have supported the Environmental Lands Acquisition and Protection Program (ELAPP) which has protected over 61,000 acres of rare and important habitat in Hillsborough County. This project, funded by a generous donation from Gus Muench, includes the oral histories of individuals involved with ELAPP including Jan K. Platt, former county commissioner (1978-2002).
Florida Citrus Oral History Project
In a collaborative project with OHP and the USF Patel Center for Global Solutions, oral historian William Mansfield conducted 20 interviews on the impact of globalization on the Florida citrus industry.
Florida Fishing Captains Oral History Project
In the “Florida Fishing Captains’ Oral History Project”, twelve Florida east coast captains share stories about their fishing history on the Atlantic Ocean; including how and why they began fishing, fishing methods used, industry changes, weather occurrences, sustainability of fish populations, and the culture of ocean fishermen.
Karst Oral History Project
The only one of its kind in the karst sciences, this collection includes interviews with prolific karst researchers and authors such as Alexander Klimchouk, Derek Ford, and William White. Interviews for this project are generally collected at USF's Best of Karst events or at other geological and speleological conferences.
Oculina Bank Oral History Project
The Oculina Bank, a 90-mile strip of coral reef near the continental shelf between Cape Canaveral and Ft. Pierce, was made a Habitat Area of Particular Concern (HAPC) in 1984. The interviews in this collection are part of a collaborative project between the OHP, Ava Lasseter, and the Gulf and South Atlantic Fisheries Foundation Inc. that began in 2010 to assess the impact the HAPC has had on recreational, charter, and commercial fisherman.
The Tampa Bay Estuary: An Oral History of Community Collaboration to Restore Ecological Integrity
This project, funded by the Tampa Electric Company, curates the memories of prominent water scientists from the bay area. The interviews in this project, collected by Dr. Ann Hodgson, act as an invaluable resource providing vital context and background for existing resources pertaining to the environmental quality of Tampa Bay and addresses food and water security, public health, and the protection of critical natural resources.
West Central Florida Land Use Oral History Project
In a collaborative project between the USF Libraries' Oral History Program and the USF Patel Center for Global Solutions, oral historian William Mansfield conducted 19 interviews on land use in West Central Florida. This collection emphasizes the many competing interests that influence land use and the complexities of managing growth.

LGBTQ+ Studies

LGBT Oral History Project
This project provides primary source material that emphasizes sexuality and gender identity-based cultures. The oral histories include discussions on firsthand experiences, everyday life, community, and common use terminologies.
Out Down South Oral History Project
This collection includes audio and video interviews of older gay and lesbian Floridians. Collected by graduate students from the Department of Anthropology, these oral histories discuss individuals' stories of growing up gay or lesbian in the American South, relationships with family members and between other LGBT persons, romantic relationships, and safety precautions LGBT individuals had to take in previous decades.

Florida and Local History

Unprecedented global migration over the last century compels scholars to understand the roles of culture and identity within American society. In conjunction with the Florida Studies Center, this collection provides scholars with rich primary source material relating to race, ethnicity and gender.

African American Burial Grounds Oral History Project
The African American Burial Ground & Remembering Project is an ongoing USF research study which addresses the erasure of historic black cemeteries in the Tampa Bay area.
Carlton-Anthony Tampa Oral History Project
This collection honors the founding donors of the OHP, Piers Anthony, his wife Carol Jacob, and Doyle E. Carlton, Jr. This collection includes interviews with prominent individuals in politics and community development in the greater Tampa area.
Celtic Heritage Oral History Project
In spring 2016, USF offered the course "the Irish in America" in which students were given the opportunity to conduct oral histories with community members who claimed Celtic heritage. This collection continues to grow as students in "The Irish in America" course add their oral histories.
Columbia Restaurant Oral History Project
This project contains the oral histories of individuals from the Columbia Restaurant Group including the executive chef, a legendary waiter, the CEO, and other staff members. This collection looks at the history of the restaurant, business struggles, community issues and the legacy of the Gonzmart family.
Florida Civil Rights Oral History Project
This collection includes interviews with several of Florida's civil rights leaders who were active at the height of the Civil Rights Movement during the 1950s and 1960s. The narratives provide details about local, regional, and national civil rights issues.
Florida Food Families Oral History Project
This project includes interviews with diverse restauranteurs in Florida, many of whom are immigrants. The participants describe their paths to restaurant ownership in the United States and how the cultures of their homelands influenced their cuisine, business practices, and enhanced the flavor of the community.
Florida Public Health Oral History Project
This collection contains interviews from 60 individuals involved in the field of public health in Florida including administrators, physicians, laboratory managers, epidemiologists, nurses, and other experts. Conducted by Dr. Charlton Prather, the interviews discuss the individuals' motivations to pursue public health, their education, their careers, and their commitment to the health of the people of Florida.
The Links Inc. Oral History Project
This oral history project explores the lives of The Links, Incorporated members through their own voices, giving insight into a vital and vibrant part of Tampa’s community.
Otis R. Anthony African Americans in Florida Oral History Project
Most of these oral histories were conducted between 1977 and 1978 as part of the Black History of Tampa Project, sponsored by the Tampa Urban League and the Hillsborough County Museum, under the direction of community activist Otis R. Anthony. The interviews were donated to the USF Department of Anthropology in 1994 as part of their Central Avenue Legacies Project who added interviews focused on Central Avenue and the Afro-Cuban community.
Showmen's Oral History Project
This collection contains interviews with members of the Showmen's Association who are involved in circuses, rodeos, and carnivals. Home-based in Gibsonton, Florida, these interviews document the careers of various showmen and the changing nature of the industry.
Spanish Civil War Oral History Project
The Spanish Civil War Oral History Project documented the response of the Tampa Spanish immigrant community to the Spanish Civil War (1936-1939). The project was partially funded by grants from the Program for Cultural Cooperation between Spain's Ministry of Culture and United States' Universities, and from the Florida Humanities Council.
Sulphur Springs Oral History Project
As part of the Sulphur Springs Heritage Project, graduate student C.J. Brown conducted six interviews in 2002-2003 for her master’s thesis in anthropology, Mapping a Generation: Oral History Research in Sulphur Springs. This project is part of USF's ongoing commitment to address the rising interest and need for heritage management.
Tampa Arts and Culture Oral History Project
This collection chronicles the evolution and development of arts and culture in the Tampa Bay area. In these oral histories, leaders and founders of arts and culture in Tampa share their insights and experiences about historical developments, trends, local institutions, and issues that enhance the community.
Tampa Mayor Sandy Freedman Administration Oral History Project
As Council Chair, Sandy Freedman became Tampa's first female mayor on July 16, 1986 following the resignation of Mayor Bob Martinez and was reelected for two additional terms (1987-1995). The oral histories in this collection give voice to issues, trends, and the development of Tampa.
Ybor City Oral History Project
This project provides primary source material about a culturally rich and diverse historic community in Tampa. Including interviews with noted historians Hampton Dunn, Gary Mormino, and Tony Pizzo, these oral histories reveal community development and redevelopment, historical preservation, and rich cultural experiences that make up a unique part of Tampa.

University of South Florida History

Florida Mental Health Institute Lecture Series
This collection consists of a series of lectures, presentations, and workshops by guest speakers at the Florida Mental Health Institute in support of mental health services research and policy.
USF 25th (1985) Anniversary Oral History Project
The Office of the President and the College of Arts and Sciences instituted the Silver Anniversary Project in 1985 to commemorate 25 years of university history. USF history professor Nancy A. Hewitt conducted the interviews, except where noted otherwise, with members of the USF faculty and staff.
USF 50th Anniversary Oral History Project
In commemoration of the 50th anniversary of the University, Oral History Program Director Mark I. Greenburg led an effort to record the thoughts of over 200 current and former students, faculty, administrators, and community friends.
The USF Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders 50th Anniversary Oral History Project
In honor of the Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders 50th anniversary, Stephanie de Silva, with the help of Mary Aragona and Taylor Baber, conducted interviews of CSD alumni and previous faculty who shared stories of their experiences in CSD over the decades and the programs that helped shape their successful careers.
USF Oral History Project
This digital oral history collection traces the history of USF through the thoughts and reminiscences of current and former students, faculty, administrators, and community friends about their experiences at USF. In addition to random interviews, the collection also includes interviews form the USF 25th and 50th anniversary oral history projects.
USF Women's Club Collection
As the very first club on campus, the Women's Club and its first president Grace Allen set a tone early that such social groups have the potential to change the community for the better. For over fifty years now, the Women's Club has done exactly that, providing scholarships to deserving students and fundraising for the university.

Holocaust, Genocide and Crimes Against Humanity

In coordination with the USF Libraries Holocaust and Genocide Studies Center, these oral histories look to the past in order to understand the causes of mass violence, treat its effects on victims, and to help prevent future atrocities.

Asaba Memorial Oral History Project
This collection of survivor testimonies documents the massacre that took place on October 5th 1967, in the Delta State community of Asaba, in Nigeria. The interviews were conducted in the U.S. and Africa by USF Department of Anthropology Professors Dr. Elizabeth Bird and Dr. Erin Kimmerle, USF Department of History Professor Dr. Fraser Ottanelli, and Tampa Police Detective Charles Massucci.
Concentration Camp Liberators Oral History Project
This collection comprises 130 testimonies with the allied service men and women who helped liberate World War II (WWII) concentration camps. Author Michael Hirsh recorded the interviews for his book The Liberators: America’s Witnesses to the Holocaust (New Yok, 2010) and donated the tapes and transcripts to the USF Libraries Holocaust and Genocide Studies Center.
Holocaust Survivors Oral History Project
Begun by USF Department of Communication Professor Carolyn Ellis and her graduate students, in collaboration with the USF Tampa Library and Florida Holocaust Museum, this growing collection of oral histories documents the memories of Holocaust survivors now living in the Tampa Bay area.