About the Collection
Otis R. Anthony African Americans in Florida Oral Histories
Scroll down to search/browse the collection
Most of these oral histories were conducted between 1977 and 1978 as part of the Black History of Tampa Project, sponsored by the Tampa Urban League and the Hillsborough County Museum, under the direction of community activist Otis R. Anthony.
In 1994, Anthony donated the collection to the USF Department of Anthropology, to support its Central Avenue Legacies Project. The Department of Anthropology conducted additional interviews, focusing primarily on Central Avenue and the Afro-Cuban community.
This is an open collection with interviews from other sources, to which more content will be added over time.
For best results, use Chrome, Firefox, Opera, or Safari. Don't see the CORAL search box below? Click here.
Florida Sentinel Bulletin Video Slide Show
For more than 63 years the Florida Sentinel Bulletin has provided a record of daily life in Tampa Bay's African-American community. Because other newspapers in Tampa Bay rarely printed articles about the African-American community, in the early years of the publication of the Florida Sentinel Bulletin, this newspaper is often the only source for written news about this community in this period.
Throughout its history the Florida Sentinel Bulletin has covered the social, cultural, political, and religious life in Tampa Bay's African-American community and has provided particularly interesting articles on the role of women and on the community's transformation during the Civil Rights Movement in the 1950s and 1960s.
The USF Libraries Special & Digital Collections has holdings of the Florida Sentinel Bulletin from 1946 to the present. This collection is used extensively by researchers, scholars, and historians and is available at the University of South Florida Libraries in microfilm and print formats.
Print Friendly View
Digital ID: A31-00026
Digital ID:
- (OCoLC)436229968
Call number:
- E185.93.F5
Creator: Hargrett, James T., Sr., 1910-1995.
Title: James Hargrett, Sr. [electronic resource] / interviewed by Otis R. Anthony and members of the Black History Research Project of Tampa.
Published: Tampa, Fla. : University of South Florida Tampa Library, 1978.
Physical description: 1 sound file (62 min.) : digital, MPEG4 file +
Otis R. Anthony African Americans in Florida oral history projectNotes: Other interviewers for the Black History Research Project of Tampa were Fred Beaton, Joyce Dyer, Herbert Jones, and Shirley Smith.
Date/Time of Event:
- Interview conducted March 16, 1978.
Summary: James Hargrett, Sr. discusses his businesses, the Tampa Negro Business Leaders, and the development of Progress Village. The discussion about the Tampa Negro Business Leaders, an African American chamber of commerce, is quite extensive and covers the founding members and their relationship to Mayor Nick Nuccio.
Other Contributers: Anthony, Otis R.
Other Contributers: Black History Research Project of Tampa.
Other Contributers: University of South Florida Libraries. Florida Studies Center. Oral History Program.
Other Contributers: University of South Florida. Tampa Library.
C0 FHM ICollection: Otis R. Anthony African Americans in Florida OHP
Subjects:
- Hargrett, James T., Sr., 1910-1995.
- African American businesspeople Interviews.
- African American business enterprises Florida Tampa.
- Progress Village (Tampa, Fla.).
- African Americans Florida.
- African Americans Florida History.
- Oral history. local
- Online audio. local






Loading content... please wait
