Asaba Memorial OHPCarlton-Anthony Tampa OHPColumbia Restaurant OHPConcentration Camp Liberators OHPFlorida Citrus Industry OHPFlorida Civil Rights OHPFlorida Food Families OHPHolocaust Survivors OHPKarst OHPLGBT OHPOculina Bank OHPOtis R. Anthony African Americans in Florida OHPShowmen's OHPSpanish Civil War OHPSulphur Springs OHPTampa Arts and Culture OHPTampa Mayor Sandy Freedman Administration OHPUSF 25th Anniversary OHPUSF 50th Anniversary OHPUSF History OHPWest Central Florida Land Use OHPYbor City OHP
African Americans in Florida Program LaunchConcentration Camp Liberators Oral History Project LaunchNational Day of ListeningEvent Parking
This is the "Otis R. Anthony African Americans in Florida OHP" page of the "Oral History Program (OHP)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Admin Sign In 

Oral History Program (OHP)   Tags: florida, genocide, holocaust, oral_histories, special_collections, tampa  

Last update: Jan 11, 2012 URL: http://guides.lib.usf.edu/ohp  Print Guide   Email Alerts ShareThis

Otis R. Anthony African Americans in Florida OHPPrint Page
  Search: 
 
 
 

About the Collection

Otis R. Anthony African Americans in Florida Oral Histories

Scroll down to search/browse the collection

Most of these oral histories were conducted between 1977 and 1978 as part of the Black History of Tampa Project, sponsored by the Tampa Urban League and the Hillsborough County Museum, under the direction of community activist Otis R. Anthony.

In 1994, Anthony donated the collection to the USF Department of Anthropology, to support its Central Avenue Legacies Project. The Department of Anthropology conducted additional interviews, focusing primarily on Central Avenue and the Afro-Cuban community.

This is an open collection with interviews from other sources, to which more content will be added over time.

For best results, use Chrome, Firefox, Opera, or Safari.  Don't see the CORAL search box below? Click here.


 

Florida Sentinel Bulletin Video Slide Show

For more than 63 years the Florida Sentinel Bulletin has provided a record of daily life in Tampa Bay's African-American community. Because other newspapers in Tampa Bay rarely printed articles about the African-American community, in the early years of the publication of the Florida Sentinel Bulletin, this newspaper is often the only source for written news about this community in this period.

Throughout its history the Florida Sentinel Bulletin has covered the social, cultural, political, and religious life in Tampa Bay's African-American community and has provided particularly interesting articles on the role of women and on the community's transformation during the Civil Rights Movement in the 1950s and 1960s.

The USF Libraries Special & Digital Collections has holdings of the Florida Sentinel Bulletin from 1946 to the present. This collection is used extensively by researchers, scholars, and historians and is available at the University of South Florida Libraries in microfilm and print formats.

Print Friendly View



Loading thumbnail for resource [A31-00086]

Digital ID: A31-00086

Digital ID:

  • (OCoLC)436223125

Call number:

  • E185.93.F5

Creator: Taylor, Ruben.

Title: Ruben Taylor [electronic resource] / interviewed by Otis R. Anthony and members of the Black History Research Project of Tampa.

Published: Tampa, Fla. : University of South Florida Tampa Library, 1978.

Physical description: 1 sound file (30 min.) : digital, MPEG4 file +

Otis R. Anthony African Americans in Florida oral history project

Summary: Ruben Taylor discusses what life was like for African Americans in Tampa during the 1920s. Particular emphasis is given to health care, Clara Frye Hospital, and black police officers. He also offers his opinion about the NAACP.

Notes: Other interviewers for the Black History Research Project of Tampa were Fred Beaton, Joyce Dyer, Herbert Jones, and Shirley Smith.

Date/Time of Event:

  • Interview conducted in 1978, month and day unknown.

Other Contributers: Anthony, Otis R.

Other Contributers: Black History Research Project of Tampa.

Other Contributers: University of South Florida Libraries. Florida Studies Center. Oral History Program.

Other Contributers: University of South Florida. Tampa Library.

C0 FHM I

Collection: Otis R. Anthony African Americans in Florida OHP

Subjects:

  • Taylor, Ruben.
  • African Americans Florida.
  • African Americans Florida History.
  • Oral history. local
  • Online audio. local

 

DCS

Description

Loading  Loading content... please wait