Past Florida Conversation Lecture SeriesPast Florida Studies ForumPast Tony Pizzo Lectures
Past Scholarship Recipients
Interpreting Cultural HeritageProject PastCastReading Into Florida's PastUniversity Press of Florida
Policies and Procedures
African American History CollectionsLGBT & Women's HistoryLocal & Family History CollectionsPolitical PapersState History CollectionsYbor City & West Tampa Collections
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

FLASC 

Florida Studies Center
Last update: Nov 20th, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.usf.edu/flasc  Print Guide  RSS Updates

LGBT & Women's History            Print Page
  
 

LGBT & Women's History





















 

Collection Detail

Special Collections & LGBT History

  Special Collections seeks to preserve records relating to the history of gender and sexuality issues in Florida, especially as related to the history of women, gay men, lesbians, bisexuals, and transgendered persons. The records of these communities, often neglected by traditional historical associations, threatens to disappear if an effort is not made towards their preservation.

Although the scholarly fields of women's studies, feminist studies, queer theory, and LGBT history have had a profound impact on academic disciplines, the future of such scholarship will depend upon the collection and preservation of materials related to issues of gender and sexuality. Once established, these collections will be of significant research value to scholars in queer studies, women's studies, LGBT history, Florida studies, and feminist scholars of all disciplines.

These initiatives seek to collect and preserve a diverse array of materials documenting the history of these communities, including personal papers, dairies, organizational records, photographs, and memorabilia. Specialized publications serving women or LGBT communities that are not generally collected by libraries are of particular interest. Although potentially encompassing materials from communities throughout the state of Florida, the initiatives will focus their collection efforts on communities within the seven county region surrounding Tampa Bay, Hillsborough, Pinellas, Citrus, Hernando, Polk, and Sarasota counties.

To enhance the use and value of these collections, these initiatives plan to support graduate research, co-sponsor public programs, and conduct oral history interviews

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait