Past Florida Conversation Lecture SeriesPast Florida Studies ForumPast Tony Pizzo Lectures
Past Scholarship Recipients
Interpreting Cultural HeritageProject PastCastReading Into Florida's PastUniversity Press of Florida
Policies and Procedures
African American History CollectionsLGBT & Women's HistoryLocal & Family History CollectionsPolitical PapersState History CollectionsYbor City & West Tampa Collections
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

FLASC 

Florida Studies Center
Last update: Nov 23rd, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.usf.edu/flasc  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Policies and Procedures            Print Page
  
 

Policies and Procedures

Access

In accordance with guidelines set by the Association of College & Research Libraries Joint Statement on Access to Original Research Materials http://www.ala.org/ala/mgrps/divs/acrl/standards/jointstatement.cfm.

Reading Room

  • The Special Collections Reading Room has surveillance cameras in use.
  • Patrons are not permitted behind the public service desk or in the stacks or faculty office areas.
  • This is a quiet research area. The use of cell phones is prohibited.
  • No food, drink, cosmetics, toiletries, personal care products, tobacco or chewing gum may be used in the Reading Room.

Visitor Check-In & Materials Requested

  • If you wish to conduct research, please click below to accept the departmental policies.  When you come to Special Collections you will then be presented with a Researcher ID card, which you may present to Special Collections staff on subsequent visits.

  • All personal belongings not required for research purposes must be locked in lockers immediately outside the Reading Room. The desk attendant will assign you a locker and provide you with a key. You may use the following items: laptop computers, PDAs, cameras, and approved personal research aids. All other items including purses, bags, folders, binders, notebooks, Post-It notes, highlighters, pens, must be placed in a locker.

  • The staff will examine any personal papers brought into the Reading Room.

  • The department provides loose-leaf paper, note cards and pencils.

  • To request research materials, please fill out a call slip and present it to a staff member.

  • When you complete your research, please return materials to a staff member.

  • Before you leave the Reading Room, the staff will examine any personal items used during research (i.e. computers, loose-leaf papers, note cards, etc.).

  • After you have retrieved your personal belongings from your assigned locker, please return locker key to the desk attendant.

  • Due to the extremely fragile nature of some items in Special Collections, certain materials may not be available for use without permission of the Director.

Handling

  • We suggest patrons wash hands prior to using rare books and archival materials.
  • Patrons requesting boxes of archival materials should leave boxes on the public service desk, and use only one folder at a time.
  • Please do not place any items (e.g. writing materials, laptops, note cards etc.) or drag jewelry or arms across the top of materials.
  • Please keep all documents in their original order.
  • Bring any misfiled items to the attention of staff.
  • Do not remove fasteners (e.g. staples, paper clips) from material.
  • We require the use of gloves for photographic and visual materials.
  • Book supports and snakes will be provided for most bound items. If an item is tightly bound, do not force it open.

Reproductions

  • A staff member must approve all requests to photograph, scan, or otherwise reproduce materials in advance. Department staff reserves the right to refuse any photocopy or digital reproduction request.
  • Collections, or individual items, may be protected by copyright law (Title 17, United States Code). Libraries and archives are authorized to furnish a photocopy or other reproduction provided that the photocopying or reproduction is not “used for any purpose other than private study, scholarship, or research” and if the materials being copied are dated before January 1, 1923. If a researcher makes a request for, or later uses, a photocopy or reproduction for purposes in excess of “fair use,” that researcher may be liable for copyright infringement.
  • Digital reproduction services provided by USF Preservation staff according to published fee schedule and in accordance with copyright.

Citation

  • The appropriate citation for Special Collections materials is: “Special & Digital Collections, Tampa Library, University of South Florida.”

p

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait