Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

How-To Guides & More 

Links here offer information about how to use the USF Libraries' research tools such as library catalog searching, using RefWorks, database guides, tutorials, orientation videos, and much more.
Last update: Nov 08th, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.usf.edu/howtoguides  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home             Print Page
  
 

Ask-A-Librarian

 

Connect Remotely

OFF CAMPUS Access

The USF Libraries subscribe to many online research materials subject to license restrictions that limit off campus access to USF students and employees only. This system verifies that you are a current USF affiliate and then enables access from any computer worldwide.

Two easy ways to gain access to these resources are:

  1. LibraryID. This is the 14 digit 2XX... number on your USF ID card which is also your library card.
  2. MyUSF/Blackboard. Click on the USF Libraries tab and then click the USF Libraries link on the next screen.
 

Research Basics

Where do I begin my research? There are two ways you can get a handle on the myriad of resources and databases in the USF Library system. The easiest way to select a database is from the main USF Libraries Webpage. Click on the Databases by Title/Subject, then on the tab "By Subject Area," and select your subject category. Each subject category is broken down by type of database - for example, key sources, article databases, images,
statistical information, etc.

Another method of finding the right databases by subject would be to check out our Subject Guides. These guides have a list of article databases and key resources for each subject available, along with contact information for more in-depth assistance with a librarian. If you still have trouble determining databases are best for your research question, don't hesitate to Ask a Librarian! using our chat or email services.

 

 

Finding the Full Article

Many of the article databases in will provide direct links to the full article being indexed.  If the full article is available online through another source you can find it by clicking on one of the following links:

               

 

The Find It @ USF or SFX link will direct you to online full text, if it is available, or to the Library Catalog to check for print holdings.

 

Citing Your Sources

For information about Citing Sources this guide has a lot of information!

 
 

RefWorks Basics

RefWorks is an online bibliographic management program that allows faculty, students, and staff at USF to create a personal database of e-references. References can be automatically imported from a search performed in some online databases or references can be entered manually. References can be formatted in a variety of output styles, including APA, MLA, Turabian, and Chicago as well as the styles preferred by a number of journals. USF faculty, staff and students have unlimited access to this software.

CLICK HERE to access the RefWorks subject guide for more information.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait