A guide to news databases and websites
- Access World News
Access world news from NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 500 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Each newspaper or wire service provides unique coverage of local and regional news, including specific information about local companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and the people in the community. Paid advertisements are excluded.
- LexisNexis Academic
LexisNexis Academic provides access to full-text news, business, and legal publications, using a variety of flexible search options. One of the most heavily used databases in higher education, LexisNexis Academic is available at over 1,500 libraries serving over 8 million students and faculty. It is a standard element in many research and information literacy programs.
- Proquest Newspapers
Indexes and provides full-text access to several national and regional newspapers: Christian Science monitor (coverage varies), Los Angeles times (1985- ), New York times (1999- ), Wall Street journal (1982- ), and Washington post (1987- ).
- Facts on File News Digest
Facts On File world news digest is a universal reference system that puts all the basic facts of U.S. and world news. The six databases from which content has been selected are: Issues and Controversies On File, Today's Science On File, Editorials On File, Reuters On-Line News Service, The World Almanac and Book of Facts, The World Almanac Encyclopedia (Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia. It is updated weekly.
- LexisNexis News
LexisNexis has launched a free online resource which provides updated news stories from over 4,000 U.S. and international news sources. News postings for the last thirty days only.
- World News Connection
World news connection is an online news service that provides translated and English-language news and information from an extensive array of providers. It is particularly effective in its coverage of local media sources, allowing a researcher to determine what is happening on the ground in a specific country or region.