Anthony, Otis R. - African Americans in Florida Oral History Project WindowArt and Art History (Saskia)Association for Mexican Cave Studies BulletinAssociation for Mexican Cave Studies Membership Activities LetterAssociation for Mexican Cave Studies NewsletterBentz, Donald L. (LGBT)Boucicault, Dion - Theatre Collection WindowBuck, Morison - Biographies of Hillsborough County JudgesBurgert Brothers Collection of Tampa PhotographsBulletin of the National Speleological Society
Early Printed Maps WindowEducation Policy Analysis ArchivesEnsminger Brothers Spanish-American War PhotographsEx Libris: Journal of the USF Library AssociatesFlorida Center for Community Design + ResearchFlorida Center for Survivors of TortureFlorida Citrus Industry Oral History Project WindowFlorida Civil Rights Oral History Project WindowFlorida Food Families Oral History Project WindowFlorida Library History ProjectFlorida Maps WindowFlorida Slave NarrativesFMHI Lectures SeriesGaceta, La - Newspaper WindowGraber Florida Aerial PhotographsGrace Allen Scholars ThesesGeo² (National Speleological Society)
Hillsborough County Marriage RecordsHolocaust & Genocide Survivors Oral History Project WindowHolocaust & Genocide Studies Center CollectionKaram, M.D., Farid - Lebanon Antiquities WindowKarst Information Portal ArchiveKarst Oral History Project WindowKarst Theses & DissertationsKeller, Gordon - School of Nursing Alumnae Association RecordsLa Gaceta - NewspaperLGBT CollectionLGBT Oral History Project WindowLiberators OHP, Concentration Camp WindowManatee County Public Library Historic PhotographsManiscalco, Rex - Bobby Smith Photographs (LGBT)Maps, Early PrintedMaps, FloridaKorad
Sacred Leaves Graduate SymposiaSacred Leaves ManuscriptsSFRA ReviewShowmen's Museum PhotographsShowmen's Oral History Project WindowSlaymaker, Archibald - Glass Plate NegativesSpanish Civil War History ProjectSpeleo DigestStokes - Florida Plant Railway PhotographsSunland Tribune
Carlton-Anthony Tampa Oral History Project WindowCenter for Economic Development ResearchCenter for Urban Transportation Research Publications [USF]Centro Asturiano de Tampa Membership Records PhotographsCity of Tampa Archives CollectionColumbia Restaurant Oral History Project WindowConcentration Camp Liberators OHP WindowCummings, Dr. Martin M.Davis, Skip - Florida Geology SlidesDisparo en RedDrew Field EchoesDunn, Hampton - Florida PostcardsDunn, Hampton - Photouring FloridaDarfuri Children's Drawings
Monteverde Institute: Community HealthMonteverde Institute: Sustainable FuturesMonteverde Institute: The State of WaterMonteverde Institute: Tropical EcologyMundos SubterraneousNational Cave and Karst Management SymposiaNatural Hazards CenterNSS News (National Speleological Society)Ringling Family, CharlesRobertson and Fresh - Tampa PhotographsQubit
Tampa Arts & Culture Oral History Project WindowTampa Bay History [Journal]Tampa Mayor Sandy Freedman Administration Oral History Project WindowTampa WPA Office PapersThe Texas CaverTheory & Research in Social EducationTyndale TargetUniversity ArchivesUSF 25th Anniversary Oral History Project WindowUSF 50th Anniversary Oral History Project WindowUSF Electronic Theses & DissertationsUSF Karst Studies SeriesUSF Libraries Finding Aids (EADs)USF Phi Beta Kappa ArchivesUSF Photograph Collection
Wagner, Francis G. - St. Petersburg Photographs, Earl R. Jacobs III CollectionWalking Tour of Ybor City with Dr. Gary MorminoWatt, Sally Radio ProgramsWehman - Florida Spanish American War PhotographsWest Central Florida Land Use Oral History Project WindowYbor City Oral History Project WindowZylstra, Sape A. - Tampa Architectural Slides
CORAL Tutorials
This is the "Burgert Brothers Collection of Tampa Photographs" page of the "Digital Collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Digital Collections   Tags: digital_collections, special_collections  

Last Updated: May 1, 2012 URL: http://guides.lib.usf.edu/digital-collections Print Guide Email AlertsShareThis

Burgert Brothers Collection of Tampa Photographs Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About the Collection

Burgert Brothers Collection of Tampa Photographs

Scroll down to search/browse the digital collection

Burgert Brothers was Tampa’s leading commercial photographic firm from 1918 to the early 1960s. Established by brothers Al and Jean, the studio focused primarily on photographing the Tampa Bay area, including Ybor City, Port Tampa, Temple Terrace, and Ballast Point. The Burgert Brothers' photographs captured Tampa's development from small town to major city and include images of daily activities, festivals, churches, homes, businesses, and streets.

Special Collections holds 859 prints from Burgert Brothers negatives, all of which have been digitized and are available online. Click here for more information about the collection of prints and additional resources.

Copyright statement - click here.

For best results, use Chrome, Firefox, Opera, or Safari. Don't see the CORAL search box below? Click here.


 

Additional Resources

After the Burgert Brothers company closed in the 1960s, its negative files were stored in a tin-roofed garage for over a decade. Of the estimated 80,000 photographs that the company took, only about 40,000 survived in 1974 when the Hillsborough County Public Library acquired the collection. Due to years of exposure to heat and humidity, many of the negatives had deteriorated beyond salvage, and weeding of the damaged negatives reduced the collection to 18,000 negatives which are currently preserved at HCPL's John Germany Library in downtown Tampa.

USF’s Burgert collection consists of Burgert Brothers prints derived from various sources and assembled into a composite collection. The two principal sources for the Burgert images comprising the USF collection were the photographic holdings of the Tony Pizzo and Hampton Dunn collections. Both had considerable numbers of Burgert prints and, in some cases, negatives dispersed under various subject headings in their photograph files. Due to the significance of the Burgert Brothers firm in visually documenting Tampa’s past, USF special collections director Tom Kemp decided in 1993-94 to assemble all of the department’s Burgert images as a single, coherent collection rather than leaving the individual photographs dispersed in various locations. The pictures from each collection were labeled to record their provenance and then arranged by their Burgert serial numbers. Bibliographic access to the collection was originally through printed guides; all Burgert Brothers prints in USF Tampa Library Special & Digital Collections have been digitized and are available online.

As additional Burgert photographs have been discovered in other sources, they were added to the Burgert Collection. Preservation prints were made of the Burgert negatives from the Pizzo and Dunn collections as the original negatives were in the process of decomposition due to “vinegar disease.” Although many of the photographs comprising the USF Burgert Brothers Collection are represented in the Burgert Archive at HCPL, a significant number are not.

For a definitive history of the Burgert Brothers, see Robert Snyder and Jack Moore's Pioneer Commercial Photography: The Burgert Brothers, Tampa, Florida. The volume is available in USF's Special Collections as well as the circulating collections at the Tampa Library and the Nelson Poynter Library in St. Petersburg.


Print Friendly View

 

 

DCS

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip