Anthony, Otis R. - African Americans in Florida Oral History Project WindowArt and Art History (Saskia)Association for Mexican Cave Studies BulletinAssociation for Mexican Cave Studies Membership Activities LetterAssociation for Mexican Cave Studies NewsletterBentz, Donald L. (LGBT)Boucicault, Dion - Theatre Collection WindowBuck, Morison - Biographies of Hillsborough County JudgesBurgert Brothers Collection of Tampa PhotographsBulletin of the National Speleological Society
Early Printed Maps WindowEducation Policy Analysis ArchivesEnsminger Brothers Spanish-American War PhotographsEx Libris: Journal of the USF Library AssociatesFlorida Center for Community Design + ResearchFlorida Center for Survivors of TortureFlorida Citrus Industry Oral History Project WindowFlorida Civil Rights Oral History Project WindowFlorida Food Families Oral History Project WindowFlorida Library History ProjectFlorida Maps WindowFlorida Slave NarrativesFMHI Lectures SeriesGaceta, La - Newspaper WindowGraber Florida Aerial PhotographsGrace Allen Scholars ThesesGeo² (National Speleological Society)
Hillsborough County Marriage RecordsHolocaust & Genocide Survivors Oral History Project WindowHolocaust & Genocide Studies Center CollectionKaram, M.D., Farid - Lebanon Antiquities WindowKarst Information Portal ArchiveKarst Oral History Project WindowKarst Theses & DissertationsKeller, Gordon - School of Nursing Alumnae Association RecordsLa Gaceta - NewspaperLGBT CollectionLGBT Oral History Project WindowLiberators OHP, Concentration Camp WindowManatee County Public Library Historic PhotographsManiscalco, Rex - Bobby Smith Photographs (LGBT)Maps, Early PrintedMaps, FloridaKorad
Sacred Leaves Graduate SymposiaSacred Leaves ManuscriptsSFRA ReviewShowmen's Museum PhotographsShowmen's Oral History Project WindowSlaymaker, Archibald - Glass Plate NegativesSpanish Civil War History ProjectSpeleo DigestStokes - Florida Plant Railway PhotographsSunland Tribune
Carlton-Anthony Tampa Oral History Project WindowCenter for Economic Development ResearchCenter for Urban Transportation Research Publications [USF]Centro Asturiano de Tampa Membership Records PhotographsCity of Tampa Archives CollectionColumbia Restaurant Oral History Project WindowConcentration Camp Liberators OHP WindowCummings, Dr. Martin M.Davis, Skip - Florida Geology SlidesDisparo en RedDrew Field EchoesDunn, Hampton - Florida PostcardsDunn, Hampton - Photouring FloridaDarfuri Children's Drawings
Monteverde Institute: Community HealthMonteverde Institute: Sustainable FuturesMonteverde Institute: The State of WaterMonteverde Institute: Tropical EcologyMundos SubterraneousNational Cave and Karst Management SymposiaNatural Hazards CenterNSS News (National Speleological Society)Ringling Family, CharlesRobertson and Fresh - Tampa PhotographsQubit
Tampa Arts & Culture Oral History Project WindowTampa Bay History [Journal]Tampa Mayor Sandy Freedman Administration Oral History Project WindowTampa WPA Office PapersThe Texas CaverTheory & Research in Social EducationTyndale TargetUniversity ArchivesUSF 25th Anniversary Oral History Project WindowUSF 50th Anniversary Oral History Project WindowUSF Electronic Theses & DissertationsUSF Karst Studies SeriesUSF Libraries Finding Aids (EADs)USF Phi Beta Kappa ArchivesUSF Photograph Collection
Wagner, Francis G. - St. Petersburg Photographs, Earl R. Jacobs III CollectionWalking Tour of Ybor City with Dr. Gary MorminoWatt, Sally Radio ProgramsWehman - Florida Spanish American War PhotographsWest Central Florida Land Use Oral History Project WindowYbor City Oral History Project WindowZylstra, Sape A. - Tampa Architectural Slides
CORAL Tutorials
This is the "Robertson and Fresh - Tampa Photographs" page of the "Digital Collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Digital Collections   Tags: digital_collections, special_collections  

Last Updated: May 1, 2012 URL: http://guides.lib.usf.edu/digital-collections Print Guide Email AlertsShareThis

Robertson and Fresh - Tampa Photographs Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About the Collection

Robertson & Fresh Photograph Collection of Tampa Photographs

Scroll down to search/browse the digital collection

The Robertson and Fresh commercial photographic firm was active in Tampa from 1932 to 1960. William Vernon "Red" Robertson worked in the field taking photographs while Harry Fresh processed and printed the images. Robertson and Fresh produced thousands of pictures that provide an invaluable visual record of the Tampa area from the Depression to the prosperous post-World War II era.

The bulk of USF's Robertson and Fresh collection came from a large collection of negatives acquired by the late Hampton Dunn for use in his Tampa: A Pictorial History; he later donated the collection to USF's Tampa Library. When Dunn donated the negatives to the library they were still in the large, multi-drawer metal cabinet that Robertson and Fresh had used to store them. Unfortunately, due to acetic acid decomposition accelerated by years of storage in conditions of high heat and humidity, many of the original negatives had disintegrated beyond recovery. Between 1994 and 1995, Charles Brown, president of the Tampa Historical Society, arranged for the printing of the approximately 1,500 surviving Robertson and Fresh negatives housed in Special Collections. Subsequently, Mrs. Verna Lee Lupo, daughter of William Robertson, donated several hundred additional negatives for integration into the library’s Robertson and Fresh Collection. Mr. Bob Baggett of Bob Baggett Photography generously provided the library with preservation prints of these negatives, many of which were in imminent danger of deterioration. Other prints of Robertson and Fresh images came from the Tony Pizzo Collection.

For best results, use Chrome, Firefox, Opera, or Safari.  Don't see the CORAL search box below? Click here.


Print Friendly View

 

 

DCS

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip