This is the "Showmen's Museum Photographs" page of the "Digital Collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Anthony, Otis R. - African Americans in Florida Oral History Project Art and Art History (Saskia)Association for Mexican Cave Studies BulletinAssociation for Mexican Cave Studies Membership Activities LetterAssociation for Mexican Cave Studies NewsletterBentz, DonBoucicault, Dion - Theatre Collection Buck, Morison - Biographies of Hillsborough County JudgesBurgert Brothers Collection of Tampa Photographs 
Education Policy Analysis ArchivesEx Libris: Journal of the USF Library AssociatesFlorida Center for Community Design + ResearchFlorida Citrus Industry Oral History Project Florida Civil Rights Oral History Project Florida Food Families Florida Library History ProjectFlorida Slave NarrativesFMHI Lectures SeriesGaceta, La - NewspaperGraber Florida Aerial Photographs
Hillsborough County Marriage RecordsHolocaust & Genocide Survivors Oral History Project Karam, M.D., Farid - Lebanon Antiquities Karst Oral History Project Karst Theses & DissertationsLGBT Oral History Project Manatee County Public Library Historic PhotographsManiscalco, Rex - Bobby Smith PhotographsMaps, FloridaMaps, Rare
SFRA Review Showmen's Museum PhotographsShowmen's Oral History Project Slaymaker, Archibald - Glass Negatives Spanish Civil War History ProjectSpeleo DigestStokes - Florida Plant Railway PhotographsSunland Tribune
Carlton-Anthony Tampa Oral History Project Center for Economic Development ResearchCenter for Urban Transportation Research Publications [USF]Centro Asturiano Membership Records PhotographsCharting The NationColumbia Restaurant Oral History Project Criggle - Florida Spanish American War PhotographsCummings, Dr. Martin M.Davis, Skip - Florida Geology SlidesDrew Field EchoesDunn, Hampton - Florida PostcardsDunn, Hampton - Photouring Florida
Monteverde Institute: Community HealthMonteverde Institute: Sustainable FuturesMonteverde Institute: The State of WaterNational Cave and Karst Management SymposiaNatural Hazards CenterNSS NewsRingling Family, CharlesRobertson and Fresh - Tampa Photographs 
Tampa Arts & Culture Oral History Project Tampa Bay History JournalTampa Mayor Sandy Freedman Administration Oral History Project Tampa WPA Office PapersTheory & Research in Social EducationTyndale TargetUSF 25th Anniversary Oral History Project USF 50th Anniversary Oral History Project USF Phi Beta Kappa Archives
Wagner, Francis G. - St. Petersburg Photographs, Earl R. Jacobs III CollectionWalking Tour of Ybor City with Dr. Gary MorminoWehman - Florida Spanish American War PhotographsWest Central Florida Land Use Oral History Project Ybor City Oral History Project Zylstra, Sape A. - Tampa Architectural Slides
Admin Sign In 

Digital Collections 

A guide to digitial collections at the USF Tampa Library.
Last update: Jan 11th, 2010 URL: http://guides.lib.usf.edu/digital-collections  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Showmen's Museum Photographs            Print Page
  
 

Collection Information

International Independent Showmen's Association
University of South Florida
Terms of Use: See below for Copyright Notice and Disclaimer

Images from the International Independent Showmen's Museum Photographic Collection portrays the life and times of the ever-changing American carnival from the late 1800s to the modern day. Featured in the collection are many photographs related to the means of transporting carnival equipment and personnel, i.e. railroads, trucks, semi-trailers, etc. There are carnival rides, game concessions, shows, and show fronts. Many carnivals were family owned and operated, and there are several of those prominent families from the business depicted.

The collection of photos, as well as many artifacts from carnival history, are housed at the International Independent Showmen's Association property, 6915 Riverview Drive, Riverview, Florida until the new museum of the American Carnival building is completed. This historic photography collection has been digitized and made available to the public through the generosity of many of the International Independent Showmen's Association's individual members, contributing both finances and labor. Also of great help was generous support through a grant from the Community Foundation of Greater Sun City Center. 

There are currently 302 images in this collection. Images will be added as they are cataloged.

Browse this collection

Search this collection

Showmen's Oral History Project
 

Copyright Notice

The International Independent Showmen's Museum provides access to these materials for noncommercial, educational, and research purposes. Copyright has not been assigned to the University of South Florida Libraries. The permission of the copyright holder, owner, and/or other rights holders is required for publication, distribution, reproduction, or other use of protected items beyond that allowed by fair use or other statutory exemptions.

For research and study purposes or more information about the American carnival contact:

    International Independent Showmen's Museum
    PO Box 189
    Gibsonton, Fl 33534

Disclaimer
Responsibility for making an independent assessment of an item and securing any necessary permission ultimately rests with persons desiring to use the item.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait