Digital Collections for Research & Learning
Welcome to the USF Tampa Library's gateway to
Search all collections using the interface below or
For best results, use Chrome, Firefox, Opera, or Safari
Don't see the CORAL search box? Click here.
About the USF Libraries Digital Collections
Digital collections in the USF Libraries originate from several sources:
The USF Library wishes to support CORAL on multiple platforms/browsers. Please contact us to report bugs or other functionality issues.
USF Libraries Digital Collections History
Digitization and digital collection building began at the USF Tampa Library Special Collections Department in the fall of 1995. In 1997 the library formally began to develop a plan to create a "virtual library" via twelve Virtual Library Implementation Teams. The Digitization Project Group (DPG) studied current standards and best practices in digitization and digital collections and created a plan for the organization of the Library Digitization Center (LDC). The DPG finished its work with the formal organization of the LDC in 1999, while the overall Virtual Library Project work concluded in 2001. Digitization staff have continuously studied emerging standards and best practices and researched new procedures to keep the digitization unit productive and efficient. In that spirit of innovation and efficiency the unit has gone through several reorganizations.
A Digital Collections & Imaging Unit was constituted in the fall of 2005 under a plan to streamline imaging, digitization, and digital collections operations by merging staff from multiple units across the USF Tampa Library. Greater efficiency was attained by gathering staff expertise and equipment into a single unit sharing the same facilities. In early 2008, the unit was renamed Digital Collections & Services in order to emphasize its role in assisting patrons. In December 2008, DCS formally merged with the Special Collections Department to form Special & Digital Collections.