This guide will help you find resources for assignments in Professor Sellers' Craft of Poetry course.
- MLA International Bibliography
Index to journal articles, books, dissertations, and scholarly book reviews in literature, language and linguistics, folklore, and drama. Some resources include links to full text available online.
- Literature Online (LION)
A digital library of English and American poetry, prose, and drama. Includes biographies, bibliographies, and some literary criticism.
- Literature Resource Center
The LRC features biographical and bibliographical information about authors. Three standard reference works are included (in addition to many others): Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, and Contemporary Authors.
- Literature Criticism Online
Includes selections of literary criticism in books and articles as well as some interviews with authors. The series "Poetry Criticism" is included in LCO.
- OneFile (General)
OneFile is useful for researching contemporary authors without much coverage in scholarly literature. It includes recent news coverage from a variety of periodicals as well as interviews.
- Academic Search Premier (1975-present)
Finds books reviews in many disciplines published in core journals and trade publications. Bonus: almost all reviews are available online. To search for book reviews only, scroll down to "search options" and click on "book reviews" under "document type."
- LexisNexis Academic (1985-present)
Finds book reviews in a variety of newspapers and popular magazines. To find reviews, "search the news" using the title of the book and the word "review" (example: "harry potter and the deathly hallows review").
- USF Library Catalog
Use the Library catalog to find books about your selected poet. Tip: Select "Subject Heading" and search for your poet by Last Name, First Name. This will return a list of works written about your poet rather than works both by and about your poet.
WorldCat is a worldwide catalog that allows you to identify resources not available at USF and discover where they are located. There are also helpful links to Interlibrary Loan, which will borrow resources for you from anywhere in the world.