This is the "Home" page of the "Office of the Dean" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Office of the Dean   Tags: dean, library_policies  

News, announcements, and greetings from the Dean
Last Updated: Mar 28, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.usf.edu/dean-usf-libraries Print Guide Email Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Learn more about us

  • USF Libraries 2013 Annual Report
    The 2013 USF Libraries Annual Report highlights selected accomplishments from the year in research, publishing, programming, and academic partnership.
  • USF Libraries 2012 Annual Report
    Review all the USF Libraries have done in 2012 to bolster student success and our research offerings to the USF community and the world.
  • USF Libraries 2011 Annual Report
    The 2011 USF Libraries Annual Report provides a review of our research initiatives, faculty and staff changes, and enhanced academic programs for the year.
  • USF Libraries 2010 Annual Report
    The 2010 USF Libraries Annual Report provides a review of our research initiatives, faculty and staff changes, building upgrades, and more.
  • USF Libraries 2009 Annual Report
    The 2009 USF Libraries Annual Report provides a review of our collection development, international engagement, and student and faculty support activities for that year.
  • Library Links - Summer 2009
    Library Links celebrates the support that enables the USF Libraries to excel and grow.
  • Did you know...?
    Learn about some of the lesser-known services, collections, and partnerships of the USF Tampa Library.
  • USF Karst Studies Series
    The USF Tampa Library published this new research by USF and affiliated karst researchers in 2008. This cave guide is the first in a series.
 

Message from the Dean



Over the recent years, the Library has developed new innovative and astonishing research aides, built up specialized collections, enhanced our environment, and have made great strides in areas to help promote student success and sharpened our ability to meet the needs of our patrons. With partnerships from the USF Career Center, Tutoring & Writing Center, and the Office of Undergraduate Research, the library has transformed into a tremendous learning epicenter for research, partnership, collaborative teaching, and service to all of our patrons.

I hope you enjoy many of the physical improvement and changes we have made over the last year. We continually strive with improvements to bring the library to a state-of-the-art learning space.

Your continued feedback is always welcomed. Should you have comments or suggestions, please contact one of our staff, or email me directly at wgarrison@usf.edu.

William A. Garrison
Dean, University of South Florida Libraries

 

USF Libraries Vision, Mission, Values and Strategic Goals 2013-2018

Vision

USF Libraries seek to develop an organizational profile consistent with membership in the Association of Research Libraries. 

Mission

The USF Libraries provide resources, services and collections to advance the University of South Florida’s teaching, learning, and research mission.

The USF Libraries is dedicated to:

-          Student academic success

-          Innovative and creative delivery of collections and services

-          Strategic partnerships and engagement

Strategic Goal 1:

Expand information management services for scholarly communication and inter-disciplinary research, teaching and learning.

Strategic Goal 2:

Acquire and preserve collections of national distinction in targeted inter-disciplinary fields, reflecting institutional strategic directions.

Strategic Goal 3:

Sustain and expand a library instruction program in collaboration with faculty which is continuously assessed for its effectiveness and impact on student academic success.   

Strategic Goal 4:

Continuously improve library operations, facilities, services, programs, and collections to better meet the research, teaching and learning needs of faculty, staff, and students.  

 

The Library is a member of:

  • American Library Association and Research Center (ALA)
  • Association of Southeastern Research Libraries (ASERL)
  • Council of Library & Information Resources (CLIR)
  • Tampa Bay Library Consortium, Inc. (TBLC)
  • Lyrasis
  • Association of Caribbean University, Research and Institutional Libraries (ACURIL)
  • Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition (SPARC)
  • New Media Consortium (NMC)
  • Coalition for Networked Information (CNI)
  • OCLC Research Library
  • Center for Research Libraries (CRL)
     

    USF Library Travel Request Form

     

    Strategic Direction: Re-setting and Re-engaging

    Below, the final report resulting from the year-long consultation process with George Jurkowich of Azimuth Consultants is available for all library employees, as is the June 22, 2011 presentation to library staff.

     

    Support the USF Libraries

    Contact us

    William A. Garrison, Dean

    wgarrison@usf.edu

    813-974-1642

     

    Florence Jandreau, CAP,

    Senior Assistant to the Dean

    fjandreau@usf.edu

    813-974-1642

     

        
      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip