Anthony, Otis R. - African Americans in Florida Oral History Project WindowArt and Art History (Saskia)Association for Mexican Cave Studies BulletinAssociation for Mexican Cave Studies Membership Activities LetterAssociation for Mexican Cave Studies NewsletterBentz, Donald L. (LGBT)Boucicault, Dion - Theatre Collection WindowBuck, Morison - Biographies of Hillsborough County JudgesBurgert Brothers Collection of Tampa PhotographsBulletin of the National Speleological Society
Early Printed Maps WindowEducation Policy Analysis ArchivesEnsminger Brothers Spanish-American War PhotographsEx Libris: Journal of the USF Library AssociatesFlorida Center for Community Design + ResearchFlorida Center for Survivors of TortureFlorida Citrus Industry Oral History Project WindowFlorida Civil Rights Oral History Project WindowFlorida Food Families Oral History Project WindowFlorida Library History ProjectFlorida Maps WindowFlorida Slave NarrativesFMHI Lectures SeriesGaceta, La - Newspaper WindowGraber Florida Aerial PhotographsGrace Allen Scholars ThesesGeo² (National Speleological Society)
Hillsborough County Marriage RecordsHolocaust & Genocide Survivors Oral History Project WindowHolocaust & Genocide Studies Center CollectionKaram, M.D., Farid - Lebanon Antiquities WindowKarst Information Portal ArchiveKarst Oral History Project WindowKarst Theses & DissertationsKeller, Gordon - School of Nursing Alumnae Association RecordsLa Gaceta - NewspaperLGBT CollectionLGBT Oral History Project WindowLiberators OHP, Concentration Camp WindowManatee County Public Library Historic PhotographsManiscalco, Rex - Bobby Smith Photographs (LGBT)Maps, Early PrintedMaps, FloridaKorad
Sacred Leaves Graduate SymposiaSacred Leaves ManuscriptsSFRA ReviewShowmen's Museum PhotographsShowmen's Oral History Project WindowSlaymaker, Archibald - Glass Plate NegativesSpanish Civil War History ProjectSpeleo DigestStokes - Florida Plant Railway PhotographsSunland Tribune
Carlton-Anthony Tampa Oral History Project WindowCenter for Economic Development ResearchCenter for Urban Transportation Research Publications [USF]Centro Asturiano de Tampa Membership Records PhotographsCity of Tampa Archives CollectionColumbia Restaurant Oral History Project WindowConcentration Camp Liberators OHP WindowCummings, Dr. Martin M.Davis, Skip - Florida Geology SlidesDisparo en RedDrew Field EchoesDunn, Hampton - Florida PostcardsDunn, Hampton - Photouring FloridaDarfuri Children's Drawings
Monteverde Institute: Community HealthMonteverde Institute: Sustainable FuturesMonteverde Institute: The State of WaterMonteverde Institute: Tropical EcologyMundos SubterraneousNational Cave and Karst Management SymposiaNatural Hazards CenterNSS News (National Speleological Society)Ringling Family, CharlesRobertson and Fresh - Tampa PhotographsQubit
Tampa Arts & Culture Oral History Project WindowTampa Bay History [Journal]Tampa Mayor Sandy Freedman Administration Oral History Project WindowTampa WPA Office PapersThe Texas CaverTheory & Research in Social EducationTyndale TargetUniversity ArchivesUSF 25th Anniversary Oral History Project WindowUSF 50th Anniversary Oral History Project WindowUSF Electronic Theses & DissertationsUSF Karst Studies SeriesUSF Libraries Finding Aids (EADs)USF Phi Beta Kappa ArchivesUSF Photograph Collection
Wagner, Francis G. - St. Petersburg Photographs, Earl R. Jacobs III CollectionWalking Tour of Ybor City with Dr. Gary MorminoWatt, Sally Radio ProgramsWehman - Florida Spanish American War PhotographsWest Central Florida Land Use Oral History Project WindowYbor City Oral History Project WindowZylstra, Sape A. - Tampa Architectural Slides
CORAL Tutorials
This is the "Home" page of the "Digital Collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Digital Collections   Tags: digital_collections, special_collections  

Last Updated: May 1, 2012 URL: http://guides.lib.usf.edu/digital-collections Print Guide Email AlertsShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Digital Collections for Research & Learning

Welcome to the USF Tampa Library's gateway to 
digital collections for research and learning.

Search all collections using the interface below or
select and search a specific collection from the
Collections by Subject or Title tabs above.

For best results, use Chrome, Firefox, Opera, or Safari
and enable pop-ups.

Don't see the CORAL search box? Click here.

 

About the USF Libraries Digital Collections

Digital collections in the USF Libraries originate from several sources:

  • Digital collections created from a physical collection owned by the USF Libraries, primarily from the Tampa Library Special Collections Department
  • Digital collections created from physical collections owned by USF Libraries' partners
  • Digital collections that were purchased and are hosted locally
  • Digital collections for which USF Libraries purchased subscription access (fee based, network affiliation, or freely available)

The USF Library wishes to support CORAL on multiple platforms/browsers.  Please report bugs or other functionality issues to Ask a Librarian.

 

USF Libraries Digital Collections History

Digitization and digital collection building began at the USF Tampa Library Special Collections Department in the fall of 1995. In 1997 the library formally began to develop a plan to create a "virtual library" via twelve Virtual Library Implementation Teams. The Digitization Project Group (DPG) studied current standards and best practices in digitization and digital collections and created a plan for the organization of the Library Digitization Center (LDC). The DPG finished its work with the formal organization of the LDC in 1999, while the overall Virtual Library Project work concluded in 2001. Digitization staff have continuously studied emerging standards and best practices and researched new procedures to keep the digitization unit productive and efficient. In that spirit of innovation and efficiency the unit has gone through several reorganizations.

A Digital Collections & Imaging Unit was constituted in the fall of 2005 under a plan to streamline imaging, digitization, and digital collections operations by merging staff from multiple units across the USF Tampa Library. Greater efficiency was attained by gathering staff expertise and equipment into a single unit sharing the same facilities. In early 2008, the unit was renamed Digital Collections & Services in order to emphasize its role in assisting patrons.  In December 2008, DCS formally merged with the Special Collections Department to form Special & Digital Collections.

 

DCS

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip