Get Librarian Help
Federal Depository Library

For more than 140 years, The Government Printing Office (GPO) has kept America informed by producing and distributing Federal government information products. GPO combines conventional technology with state-of-the-art methods whether providing public access to Government information online, or producing or procuring printed publications that serve the information needs of the U.S. Congress, Federal agencies and the American public.
The mission of the Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) is to disseminate information products from all three branches of the Government to over 1,250 libraries nationwide. The FDLP provides Government information at no cost to designated depository libraries throughout the country and territories. These depository libraries, in turn, provide local, no-fee access to Government information in an impartial environment with professional assistance.
As institutions committed to equity of access and dedicated to free and unrestricted public use, the nation's nearly 1,250 depository libraries serve as one of the vital links between "We the people" and our Government. Anyone can visit Federal depository libraries and use the Federal depository collections which are filled with information on careers, business opportunities, consumer information, health and nutrition, legal and regulatory information, demographics, and numerous other subjects.
Florida Electronic Federal Depository Library
Florida Electronic Federal Depository Library (FEFDL)
This
website was created by the Government Documents Department of the
George A. Smathers Libraries of the University of Florida in order to provide
indexing of and access to government information online.
The site's primary mission is to meet the needs of researchers and the general public for access to information by and about the state of Florida and its local governments.
Digitization Projects
The Registry contains records for projects that include digitized copies of publications originating from the U.S. Government. It serves as a locator tool for publicly accessible collections of digitized U.S. Government publications; increases awareness of U.S. Government publication digitization projects that are planned, in progress, or completed; fosters collaboration for digitization projects; and provides models for future digitization projects.
In addition, there are a number of content partnerships between depository libraries and governmental agencies.
USF Tampa Library FDLP
The USF Tampa Library is a depository for a wide range of federal and state government publications. The USF Tampa Library was designated as a Federal Depository Library in 1962 and selects, acquires, and organizes approximately 55 percent of the government publications that are issued by the U.S. Government Printing Office. Publications are issued by the executive, congressional, or judicial branches of government.
The USF Tampa Library became a state depository library in 1967 and regularly receives publications from the State Library of Florida that are published by state departments and agencies
The Government Documents Collections are located in the basement of the USF Tampa Library and are accessible during regular library hours.. Most materials are available for checkout with a valid USF ID card or a Special Borrower's Card. Reference services for the federal and state documents collections is provided by the Reference & Research Desk, located on the first floor of the USF Tampa Library.
Contact Information:
Cheryl McCoy
Academic Resources, Coordinator of Collections
(813) 974-3530
cmccoy@usf.edu
USF Tampa Library Government Documents Policies
USF Tampa - Federal Depository Library Policies
Locate a Federal Depository Library
Welcome to the GPO Federal Depository Library Directory (FDLD)
A service of the Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
Locate a Federal Depository Library (FDL). There
are three methods for retrieving Federal Depository Library
information:
Federal Depository Library Resources
- Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
The CGP is the finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online. The catalog offers you the option to find a nearby Federal depository library that has a particular publication or that can provide expert assistance in finding and using related U.S. government information.
To provide American citizens direct online access to the basic Federal Government documents that define our democratic society, a core group of current and historical Government publications is being made available for free, permanent, public access via GPO Access.
GPO's Federal Digital System (FDsys) provides public access to Government information submitted by Congress and Federal agencies and preserved as technology changes.
- Frequently Used Sites Related to U.S. Federal Government Information
Maintained by - Federal Documents Task Force (FDTF) • Government Documents Round Table (GODORT) • American Library Association (ALA)
FDsys is the portal used by the U.S. Government Printing Office to disseminate official information from all three branches of the Federal Government.
Coordinator of Collections |
Contact Info University of South Florida 4202 E. Fowler Avenue LIB 122 Tampa, FL 33620 Voice: 813-974-3530 Email: cmccoy@usf.edu Office: Tampa Library - LIB 015 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |
RSS Feeds
USA.gov - News & Features
USF Tampa Library Government Documents Collection Guides
All government publications are shelved according to the Superintendent of Document Classification System (SuDocs). This call number system is based on the government agency that distributes the publication. The SuDocs call number system is not a decimal based system like the Library of Congress Classification System that is used in the rest of the library.
The following tutorial will help you understand how to locate materials in the Government Documents Collection: SuDocs Call Numbers









Loading...

Loading...
