A guide to resources in the health literature
- Ask A Librarian
CHAT HOURS, links to chat and email reference, consultation requests, library services desk, and telephone hours.
- Academic Search Premier
Academic search premier, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,650 serials, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 8,200 journals in the collection.
Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature: Provides indexing and abstracting for over 1,600 current nursing and allied health journals and other publications dating back to 1982. Offers complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, covering nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative complementary medicine, consumer health, and 17 allied health disciplines.
- Health and Wellness Resource Center
Provides full-text materials, abstracts and citations to patient and consumer health information found in journals, magazines, pamphlets and reference works. Provides browsable access to medical encyclopedias. Includes pamphlets and videos.
- MEDLINE (CSA)
MEDLINE on this service contains over 4 million citations and abstracts, providing unparalleled access to worldwide biomedical literature. The database contains a broad range of medical topics relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services.
Presents up-to-date health care information, selected by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, for use by health care consumers and health professionals. Hundreds of health topics are listed alphabetically and are also grouped into 32 groups.
PubMed was developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). It was developed in conjunction with publishers of biomedical literature as a search tool for accessing literature citations and linking to full-text journals at web sites of participating publishers. Provides access to over 12 million Medline citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals.
Many of the article databases listed in this guide will provide direct links to the full article being indexed. If the full article is available online through another source you can find it by clicking on one of the following links:
The Find It @ USF or SFX link will direct you to online full text, if it is available, or to the Library Catalog to check for print holdings.