This database is an index to materials published since 1984. It includes an index to articles and book reviews of key library and information science periodicals. Books, chapters in collected works such as conference proceedings, library school theses, and pamphlets are also indexed. Full-text coverage for selected periodicals is included beginning in 1997.
This is a comprehensive index to the literature with over 1,200 periodicals and citations to more than 500,000 articles. Library literature & information science retrospective is an index to library and information science content but does not contain the full text of that content.
This database is an abstracting and indexing tool covering over 440 periodicals from more than 68 countries and in more than 20 different languages. It does not contain any full text itself, but each entry provides a button that determines whether the USF Tampa Library provides full-text access in another database.
This guide is intended for individuals without ready access to print resources and subscription databases in the field of library and information science. It compiles free, full-text resources available on the Web for use by librarians, library technicians, and students in the field. In addition, the Frequently Asked Questions page provides answers to a number of the most common library and information science questions received by the Library of Congress.
Provides a broad basis for understanding the issues, technologies, theories, applications, opportunities and challenges being faced by researchers and organizations today in their quest for knowledge management.
This database is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997.
Presents a collection of electronic theses and dissertations. Features the Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD), an initiative to improve graduate education, increase the sharing of knowledge, and help universities build their information infrastructure. NDLTD is a project team at Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University in Blacksburg. Highlights the objectives. Links to related projects and related initiatives
Includes theses and dissertations from North Carolina State University, the University of Virginia, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, and West Virginia University. Allows users to search the theses and dissertations. Provides access to other schools with electronic thesis and dissertation collections, including the University of Michigan and the University of Waterloo.
Academic search premier, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,650 serials, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 8,200 journals in the collection.
This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer science, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. The majority of full text titles are available in searchable PDF, or scanned-in-color. This database is updated on a daily basis.
Signing in to Google Scholar through the Library Web site connects you to the full-text subscription items more directly than if you bypass the library and go directly there. Also, modifying "Scholar Preferences" allows you to put citations into Endnote or RefWorks. Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publisher
The Ingenta database currently comprises over 20 million articles from more than 30,000 publications that cover a wide range of disciplines, including the arts, humanities, social sciences, nursing and medicine. It can be searched by topic (words in titles or abstracts) or by author, and browsed by journal title.
IngentaConnect can also be used as an alert service. You can create a personal profile to which you can attach journal titles and saved searches. For each journal title that you attach to your profile, you will receive its table of contents via email when a new issue is entered into the database. For each saved search, you will receive a weekly email listing new articles in the databases that match your search criteria. Click on this link for the how to guide on setting up your own profiles.
Wilson OmniFile Full Text, Mega Edition is a multi-disciplinary database providing the complete content-- indexing, abstracts, and full text--from six of Wilson's full-text databases: Education full text, General science full text, Humanities full text, Readers' guide full text, Social sciences full text, and Wilson business full text.
Full-text articles from five additional periodical databases are also included when available: Applied science & technology full text, Art full text, Biological & agricultural index, Index to legal periodicals & books, and Library literature & information science full text.
Indexing begins in 1982, abstracts in 1984, and full-text coverage in 1994. Each database has its own start dates for indexing, abstracting, and full text; start dates for full-text rights to individual journals vary within a database.