This is the "Home" page of the "Farid Karam, M.D. Lebanon Antiquities Collection" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
About the Process
R30-00074 Dropper bottleR30-00085 UnguentariumR30-00110 Ointment jarR30-00115 BowlR30-00117 Sprinkler flaskR30-00119 JarR30-00120 Double head flaskR30-00125 UnguentariumR30-00128 EwerR30-00146 Goblet
R30-00045 Oil lampR30-00047 Oil lampR30-00048 Oil lampR30-00050 Oil lampR30-00134 Oil lamp
R30-00063 Bust of man
R30-00044 Female figurineR30-00112 Aphrodite
BibliographyMuseums & PreservationResources
banner Link to USF home page Link to USF Library home page Link to USF Library Special & Digital Collections home page Link to USF Library catalog Link to USF Library's Article QuickSearch Link to USF Library's E-Journals search Link to USF Library's Digital Collectons Link to USF WorldCat Link to USF Library's interlibrary loan Link to USF Library's site map Link to USF Library's Ask a Librarian
Admin Sign In 

Farid Karam, M.D. Lebanon Antiquities Collection 

A guide to the Farid Karam, M.D. Lebanon Antiquities Collection at the USF Tampa Library.
Last update: Sep 3rd, 2010 URL: http://guides.lib.usf.edu/karam  Print/Mobile Guide   RSS Updates  Email Alerts ShareThis

Home         Print/Mobile Page
  
 

About the Collection

Farid Karam, M.D. Lebanon Antiquities Collection

Alabastron R30-00070

The Farid Karam, M.D. Lebanon Antiquities Collection consists of 149 objects, including jars, goblets, bottles, oil lamps, unguentariums, and busts/figures. Most of the items came from Roman Syria, a wealthy province on the Eastern Mediterranean, and date from the 1st through the 4th centuries AD.

This collection guide presents a selection of the antiquity objects in three dimensional animation. The objects are presented in four artifact groups: Glass, Clay, Stone and Metal. Each object's page contains an animation, descriptive data, and historical information that offers a glimpse of how objects like these were made and/or used, terms about the materials and processes, information about preservation and conservation, a general sense of lifestyle for that era, and links to related resources. The descriptive data and curator's notes, provided by the collection's original curator, Claudia J. Dold, Assistant Librarian at the Louis de la Parte Florida Mental Health Institute Research Library, are valuable contributions to the content of this site.

In addition, all 149 items in the collection have been digitally photographed and the digital images are available for viewing online. Terms of Use: free, unlimited access.

Scroll down to search/browse the digital collection

This guide also contains a glossary, bibliography, and other resources for further study including: timelines, maps, and links to related USF databases. The animated items presented here were selected from 149 items in the physical collection, which can be viewed and studied in the USF Tampa Special Collections Reading Room. This site serves all communities, including, but not limited to: historians, archaeologists, art history students, faculty, researchers, librarians, gallery owners, and curators. The goal of the site is to provide virtual access to the collection and to contextualize the collection through the inclusion of related research materials.


Loading
Loading Video/Audio Clip...
 

DCS

 

(813) 974-2729 | Map & Directions | Ask a Librarian | USF Libraries Home Page
USF Library Facebook, Twitter @usflibraries, Email Newsletter | Share this page
USF Library  |  The University of South Florida
Description

Loading  Loading content... please wait