This guide is designed for students in the Master's program in Library and Information Science.
Use these databases and websites to locate articles and other research material in the area of library and information science.
- Encyclopedia of Library and Information Sciences, Third Edition
- Library Literature and Information Science Full Text
This database is an index to materials published since 1984. It includes an index to articles and book reviews of key library and information science periodicals. Books, chapters in collected works such as conference proceedings, library school theses, and pamphlets are also indexed. Full-text coverage for selected periodicals is included beginning in 1997.
- Library Literature and Information Science Retrospective
This database is an index to materials published from 1905 to 1983. It includes the full text of Wilson Library Bulletin from 1914 to 1983.
- LISA: Library and Information Science Abstracts
This database is an abstracting and indexing tool covering over 440 periodicals from more than 68 countries and in more than 20 different languages. It does not contain any full text itself, but each entry provides a button that determines whether the USF Tampa Library provides full-text access in another database.
- Library and Information Science: A Guide to Online Resources (Library of Congress)
This guide is intended for individuals without ready access to print resources and subscription databases in the field of library and information science. It compiles free, full-text resources available on the Web for use by librarians, library technicians, and students in the field. In addition, the Frequently Asked Questions page provides answers to a number of the most common library and information science questions received by the Library of Congress.
- Encyclopedia of Knowledge Management
Provides a broad basis for understanding the issues, technologies, theories, applications, opportunities and challenges being faced by researchers and organizations today in their quest for knowledge management.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT)
This database is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997.
- USF Electronic Theses & Dissertations
- Networked Digital Library of Theses & Dissertations
Presents a collection of electronic theses and dissertations. Features the Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD), an initiative to improve graduate education, increase the sharing of knowledge, and help universities build their information infrastructure. NDLTD is a project team at Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University in Blacksburg. Highlights the objectives. Links to related projects and related initiatives
Use these databases to locate information about education-related topics, particularly those tied to literacy, reading, children, and adolescents.
- Education Full Text
This database brings you comprehensive coverage of an international range of English-language periodicals, monographs and yearbooks. Full text of articles cover to cover, from hundreds of journals, make this a one-stop source for education-related research.
- ERIC (Cambridge Scientific Abstracts)
The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. This new ERIC online system, released September 2004, provides the public with a centralized ERIC Web site for searching the ERIC bibliographic database of more than 1.1 million citations going back to 1966.
- Academic Search Premier
Academic search premier, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,650 serials, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 8,200 journals in the collection.
- Google Scholar
Signing in to Google Scholar through the Library Web site connects you to the full-text subscription items more directly than if you bypass the library and go directly there. Also, modifying "Scholar Preferences" allows you to put citations into Endnote or RefWorks. Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publisher
- Ingenta Connect
The Ingenta database currently comprises over 20 million articles from more than 30,000 publications that cover a wide range of disciplines, including the arts, humanities, social sciences, nursing and medicine. It can be searched by topic (words in titles or abstracts) or by author, and browsed by journal title.
- Wilson Omnifile Full Text Mega Edition
Wilson OmniFile Full Text, Mega Edition is a multi-disciplinary database providing the complete content-- indexing, abstracts, and full text--from six of Wilson's full-text databases: Education full text, General science full text, Humanities full text, Readers' guide full text, Social sciences full text, and Wilson business full text.