Provides a broad basis for understanding the issues, technologies, theories, applications, opportunities and challenges being faced by researchers and organizations today in their quest for knowledge management.
This guide is intended for individuals without ready access to print resources and subscription databases in the field of library and information science. It compiles free, full-text resources available on the Web for use by librarians, library technicians, and students in the field. In addition, the Frequently Asked Questions page provides answers to a number of the most common library and information science questions received by the Library of Congress.
This database is an index to materials published since 1984. It includes an index to articles and book reviews of key library and information science periodicals. Books, chapters in collected works such as conference proceedings, library school theses, and pamphlets are also indexed. Full-text coverage for selected periodicals is included beginning in 1997.
This database is an abstracting and indexing tool covering over 440 periodicals from more than 68 countries and in more than 20 different languages. It does not contain any full text itself, but each entry provides a button that determines whether the USF Tampa Library provides full-text access in another database.
This is a comprehensive index to the literature with over 1,200 periodicals and citations to more than 500,000 articles. Library literature & information science retrospective is an index to library and information science content but does not contain the full text of that content.
This database brings you comprehensive coverage of an international range of English-language periodicals, monographs and yearbooks. Full text of articles cover to cover, from hundreds of journals, make this a one-stop source for education-related research.
The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. This new ERIC online system, released September 2004, provides the public with a centralized ERIC Web site for searching the ERIC bibliographic database of more than 1.1 million citations going back to 1966.
Effective October 1, more than 107,000 full-text non-journal documents (issued 1993-2004), previously available through fee-based services only, are available for free.
Pre 1993 documents are being scanned and added as well.
Academic search premier, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,650 serials, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 8,200 journals in the collection.
This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer science, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. The majority of full text titles are available in searchable PDF, or scanned-in-color. This database is updated on a daily basis.
One of the most widely-used resources in the humanities. Covers a variety of subjects, including and not limited to Literature & the Arts, History, Classics, and Philosophy. Although most content is about 5 years old, JSTOR now has more than 150 current journals!
Wilson OmniFile Full Text, Mega Edition is a multi-disciplinary database providing the complete content-- indexing, abstracts, and full text--from six of Wilson's full-text databases: Education full text, General science full text, Humanities full text, Readers' guide full text, Social sciences full text, and Wilson business full text.
Full-text articles from five additional periodical databases are also included when available: Applied science & technology full text, Art full text, Biological & agricultural index, Index to legal periodicals & books, and Library literature & information science full text.
Indexing begins in 1982, abstracts in 1984, and full-text coverage in 1994. Each database has its own start dates for indexing, abstracting, and full text; start dates for full-text rights to individual journals vary within a database.