REMEMBER, if you are logging on to a Shimberg Library database from off campus or through wireless access, you will be prompted for your USF/Healthnet user ID and password. PLEASE NOTE: some resources are available only to members of USF Health.
Provides indexing and abstracting for over 1,600 current nursing and allied health journals and other publications dating back to 1982. Offers complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, covering nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative complementary medicine, consumer health, and 17 allied health disciplines. In addition, CINAHL offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters. This database also provides full text for 56 journals plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments, clinical trials. -- Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
The Cochrane Library is a collection of seven databases: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews; Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE); Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL); Cochrane Methodology Register; Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA); NHS Economic Evaluation Database (NHS EED); About The Cochrane Collaboration. This collection brings together up-to-date research on the effectiveness of healthcare treatments and interventions, as well as methodology and diagnostic tests. There are over 5000 Cochrane Reviews available in The Cochrane Library, and over 2000 protocols, providing descriptions of the research methods and objectives for Cochrane Reviews in progress.
DynaMed is a clinical reference tool created by physicians for physicians and other health care professionals for use primarily at the 'point-of-care'. With clinically-organized summaries for more than 3,000 topics, DynaMed is the only evidence-based reference shown to answer most clinical questions during practice. Based on the results of a study published in Annals of Family Medicine (November/December 2005), not only did primary care clinicians answer more clinical questions with access to DynaMed than without DynaMed, but these clinicians also found more answers in DynaMed that changed clinical decisions.
Embase is a biomedical and pharmaceutical database containing bibliographic records with abstracts from Embase (1974-present) and MEDLINE (1966-present) deduplicated and searchable with Emtree. The following fields are covered: drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation.
Includes full-text journals and books as well as the following databases: EBM Reviews, MEDLINE, Health & Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI), and International Pharmaceutical Abstracts (IPA). Non USF Health patrons click here.
PsychiatryOnline is a web-based portal that features the DSM-IV-TR, one of the most widely used psychiatric references. The portal also includes journals such as the American journal of psychiatry, Psychiatric services, Neuropsychiatry and clinical neurosciences, Psychosomatics and Academic psychiatry. Additional content includes textbooks such as the American Psychiatric Publishing textbook of clinical psychiatry and Gabbards treatments of psychiatric disorders; self-assessment tools for study, board certification and recertification review; American Psychiatric Association practice guidelines for the treatment of psychiatric disorders; and clinical and research news from Psychiatric news. PsychiatryOnline supports unlimited PDA downloads, cross-format searching across books and journals on the site, linking between references, and the emailing of the full text of any book section.
Covers the professional academic literature in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. Coverage is worldwide, and includes references and abstracts to over 1,300 journals and to dissertations in over 30 languages, and to book chapters and books in the English language. Over 50,000 references added annually. Popular literature is excluded. -- Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
PubMed was developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). It was developed in conjunction with publishers of biomedical literature as a search tool for accessing literature citations and linking to full-text journals at web sites of participating publishers. Provides access to over 12 million Medline citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, includes over 15 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's. These citations are from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
A web database for scientific research that contains the full text of more than 2000 Elsevier Science journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences available through the Internet. Contains abstracts and articles from the core journals in major scientific disciplines. The journals are arranged under subject areas for topical navigation. -- USF Libraries access is based on purchase of or subscription to specific titles in ScienceDirect. Access is generally back to 1995, with backfile access to selected titles. Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research. -- For saving searches and setting up email alerts please register in Scopus.
Covers both serial and monographic literature in the following areas of sport: recreation, exercise physiology, sports medicine, coaching, physical fitness, the psychology, history and sociology of sport, training, and conditioning. Seventy percent of the database consists of periodical articles.
The ISI Web of Science provides seamless access to the Science Citation Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. It enables users to search current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. ISI Web of Science also provides a unique search method, cited reference searching. With it, users can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines and time spans to uncover all the information relevant to their research. Users can also navigate to electronic full-text journal articles. -- Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Features over 60 medical book titles, drug information, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment programs, case files, diagnostic tools, and the ability to download content to a mobile device. NOTE: To use the self-assessment tools and case studies, you will need to register for a free AccessMedicine account. Non-USF patrons click here.
Allows selection by core curriculum topic, browsing by organ system, or searching across McGraw-Hill pharmacy and medical textbooks. NOTE: You must register for a free Access account to use the self-assessment tools and case studies. Non-USF patrons click here.
AccessSurgery provides medical students with a variety of resources needed to excel in their surgery clerkship; assists residents in gaining instant access to videos, self-assessment, and leading surgical textbooks that will establish an important foundation for learning; enables clinical instructors to create, track and report their students’ progress through a Custom Curriculum tool that eases workflow and incorporates our Simbionix™ curriculum; and allows practicing surgeons to brush up on their medical knowledge when studying for their Maintenance of Certification Exam. NOTE: To use the self-assessment tools and case studies, you will need to register for a free AccessSurgery account.
NetLibrary is one of USFs largest collection of online books from various publishers. While USF has not purchased the entire NetLibrary collection, the USF collection numbers over 69,000 titles with a focus on scholarly publications with some general interest titles included. Over 54% of the titles are from university presses such as Oxford, MIT, and SUNY. Publishers with substantial content include Wiley and Taylor & Francis. NetLibrary also contains a searchable collection of electronic books in the public domain including titles digitized by Yale University Press.
Full-text cross-searchable reference books for the health professional. Includes other resources such as Stedman's Medical Dictionary and MedCalc 3000, a unique computerized medical reference and tool set.
The Thieme E-Book Library is an online collection of illustrated full-color downloadable textbooks from Thieme’s renowned Color Atlases and Flexibook series. This comprehensive electronic library covers every course in the medical school curriculum to help students, researchers and clinicians master critical subjects in medicine and the life sciences. Non USF Health patrons click here.
Academic Search Premier, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,650 serials, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 8,200 journals in the collection. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer science, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. The majority of full text titles are available in searchable PDF, or scanned-in-color. This database is updated on a daily basis.
The general purpose of ACP Journal Club is to select published articles, according to explicit criteria, and abstract those studies and reviews that should receive immediate attention by physicians aiming to stay current with important advances in their field. These articles are summarized in "value-added" abstracts and commented on by clinical experts. The ACP Journal Club database is a convenient electronic way to stay on top of your journal reading. Journals are reviewed according to a priority list. All issues of the following "core" journals are reviewed: American Journal of Medicine, Annals of Internal Medicine, Archives of Internal Medicine , BMJ, Circulation, Diabetes Care, JAMA, Journal of General Internal Medicine, Journal of Internal Medicine, Lancet,and New England Journal of Medicine. Other journals are reviewed as space permits, as announced in each issue.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments provides ready access to information on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/ manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science. HaPI assists researchers, practitioners, educators, administrators, and evaluators, including students, to identify measures needed for research studies, grant proposals, client/patient assessment, class papers/projects, theses/dissertations, and program evaluation. By creating an organized resource of previously unavailable measurement information, HaPI: (a) provides a means of locating a variety of instruments, (b) helps to reduce inefficiency and cost, and (c) eliminates duplication and "reinvention of the wheel." -- 5 Simultaneous Users
This database enables neuroscientists to keep abreast of major advances within the field and their implications for other medical specialties. The database covers all aspects of vertebrate and invertebrate neuroscience, emphasizing basic research but also including such devastating neural diseases as Alzheimer's. -- Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
WorldCat database is the OCLC online union catalog. It contains over 50 million biblliographic records describing resources cataloged by OCLC member libraries around the world. -- Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
The Annual Disability Statistics Compendium pools disability statistics published by various federal agencies together in one place. The Compendium makes finding and using disability statistics easier (2009 to date).
Research, Statistics, Data & Systems site also includes CMS Data Navigator, an easy-to-use, menu-driven search tool that makes the data and information resources of the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) more easily available. Use the Data Navigator to find data and information products for specific CMS programs, such as Medicare and Medicaid, or on specific health care topics or settings-of-care.
Provides CMS, CDC, FDA and NIH datasets grouped across the following categories for public use: health; state-, community-, and national health data; Medicare; hospital; quality of care; and inpatient data. Part of the HHS Health Data Initiative.
WHO's annual World Health Statistics reports present the most recent health statistics for the WHO Member States. In addition, the GHO site also has reports form WHO programmes, country statistics, health indicator standards, and the GHO data repository, which offers thematic or theme or multi-dimension query functionality.
Science-based national objectives for improving the health of all Americans. Includes evidence-based resources that analyze and appraise interventions and strategies for improving the health of your community.
The Health and Medicine Division (HMD), previously the Institute of Medicine (IOM), is a division of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine (the National Academies). The HMD provides independent, objective analysis and advice to the nation and conducts other activities to solve complex problems and inform public policy decisions related to science, technology, and medicine.
The National Quality Measures Clearinghouse (NQMC) database provides access to specific evidence-based, health care quality measures and measure sets. NQMC provides structured, standardized abstracts containing information about measures and their development; a utility for comparing attributes of two or more quality measures in a side-by-side comparison; and links to full-text quality measures (when available) and/or ordering details for the full measure. The database is searchable by disease, treatment, organization, or domain (access, outcome, patient experience, and process). It is sponsored by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's website for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in easy-to-understand language. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free.
Accurate, up-to-date, comprehensive cancer information from the US government's principal agency for cancer research. It includes information on common types of cancer, clinical trials, prevention, and statistics.