USF Home | USF Directory | myUSF

MUE 6787: Literature Review in Music Education

This course guide will direct you to the appropriate library resources to use when researching Music literature and other associated disciplines.

Got a Plan: Create an Outline

  • Locate the appropriate literature (books, ebooks, scholarly articles) to support your research topic for your final bibliography which will have 30 references.

  • Identify appropriate keywords and subject terms you used to find the sources you will use in your final bibliography.

  • Locate at least two sources for each main point covered.

When researching the literature, be sure to keep a record of the names of the databases you searched in, the keywords or subject terms you used to locate the sources, and the number of sources you found.  

If the resource you are using is very good, use the bibliography in that source to locate additional sources.

Be sure to keep a record of the references you found.  Most databases will give you the citation for the item in several citation styles, including APA.

If you need additional assistance, there are more tutorials that can be found under Guides > Tutorials. 

JOURNAL ARTICLES

To find journal articles:
Search the hyperlinked databases listed on the appropriate subject guides:

  • Go to www.lib.usf.edu
  • Scroll over GUIDES and select All Guides
  • Select a subject, i.e., Music


EXAMPLE

undefined

EXAMPLE

  • CLICK on the MUSIC Guide
  • CLICK on ARTICLES 

    undefined

Searching Databases

  • SELECT a database, i.e. Music Index
  • SEARCH the database using search terms that represent the information you are looking for, i.e.  Music (Subject) AND Cognition (Subject). Limit to peer-reviewed journal articles. The RESULTS yield over 250 peer-reviewed journal articles.

     

​EXAMPLE
undefined

EXAMPLE

Reading Your Results
 

  • Each citation has detailed information about the journal article including an ABSTRACT, which is a brief summary of what the article is about.

    undefined

     
  • If you find a really good article, you can find additional articles by:
    • Searching for the references listed in the bibliography at the end of that article
    • Clicking on the Subject Terms and Author-Supplied Keywords 
       

Finding the Full Text of the Journal Article

Many journal articles provide the text of the article, but if it is not available you can click on the Find it @ USF button to locate the text in another database.

This is what the Find it button looks like:

If the article is not available in a database, then check the Library Catalog for the title of the journal to see if we have the print journal in the Library.  

If the USF Libraries DOES NOT have the journal either in print or electronically, then we can borrow it from another library at not cost to you using Interlibrary Loan.

     

 

Journals at USF


If you want to know if USF owns a particular journal either electronically or in print, type the name of the journal in the USF Libraries Catalog, select Journal Title and Go.

 

> Journal Title Search:

 


> Results of a Print Journal Title Search:

:


​Read the "Holdings" to Identify What USF Owns



> Results of an E-Journal Title Search: