REMEMBER, if you are logging on to a Shimberg Library database from off campus or through wireless access, you will be prompted for your USF/Healthnet user ID and password. PLEASE NOTE: some resources are available only to members of USF Health.
Allows selection by core curriculum topic, browsing by organ system, or searching across McGraw-Hill pharmacy and medical textbooks. NOTE: You must register for a free Access account to use the self-assessment tools and case studies. Non-USF patrons click here.
Pharmacy Library is a collection of textbooks, NAPLEX review, active learning exercises, case studies, and JAPhA article abstracts from the American Pharmacists Association (APhA). USF Main Campus: click here.
NOTE: You will need to register for a free account with APhA in order to access the interactive features, such as NAPLEX® review, Active Learning Exercises, and case studies. If you are already an APhA member, use your current registration information to login.
The NLM Drug Information Portal is a free resource that searches U.S. government agencies, including the National Library of Medicine, FDA and CDC. Includes current information regarding consumer health, clinical trials, AIDS–related drug information, MeSH® pharmacological actions, PubMed® biomedical literature, and physical properties and structure. The portal covers drugs from the time they are entered into clinical trials through entry into the U.S. marketplace.
To keep up with your favorite journals on the go, download the Browzine app to your mobile device and sign in to USF. You can customize your bookshelf and receive notifications when the newest issue has published.
The American Journal of Health-System Pharmacy (AJHP) is the official publication of the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP). It publishes peer reviewed scientific papers on contemporary drug therapy and pharmacy practice innovations in hospitals and health systems.
Annals of Pharmacotherapy is a peer-reviewed journal that advances pharmacotherapy throughout the world by publishing high-quality research and review articles to achieve the most desired health outcomes.The articles provide cutting-edge information about the most efficient, safe and cost-effective pharmacotherapy for the treatment and prevention of various illnesses.
Drug Safety covers the disciplines of pharmacovigilance, pharmacoepidemiology, benefit-risk assessment, risk management and medication error prevention, specializing in reviews on the epidemiology, clinical features, prevention and management of adverse effects of individual drugs and drug classes.
The Journal of the American Pharmacists Association, the official peer-reviewed journal of the American Pharmacists Association, provides members with articles and columns on pharmaceutical care, drug therapy, diseases and other health issues, trends in pharmacy practice and therapeutics, informed opinion, and original research.
All students and full-time faculty from the USF College of Pharmacy are eligible to receive a complimentary subscription to Pharmacist's Letter, compliments of Walmart Pharmacy.
College of Pharmacy Faculty
Full-time College of Pharmacy faculty who wish to sign up for Pharmacist's Letter should send me an email. Please include the email address you would like to associate with the subscription, as well as your department in the College of Pharmacy.
College of Pharmacy Students
College of Pharmacy students should go to www.studentpharmacists.com and click on activate my Pharmacist's Letter subscription. Fill in the information to register and click submit.
LIVERTOX®, produced by the NIDDK and the NLM, provides information on the diagnosis, cause, frequency, patterns, and management of liver injury attributable to prescription and nonprescription medications, herbals and dietary supplements.
This NIH database (updated monthly) contains peer-reviewed information on drugs and chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed as well as levels of such substances in breast milk and infant blood, and the possible adverse effects in the nursing infant. Suggested therapeutic alternatives to those drugs are provided, where appropriate.
Lexi-Tox combines information on agents of toxicity, antidotes and decontaminants, household products, provides access to Safety Data Sheets (SDS), toxicology-specific calculators and drug identification in one point-of-care application.
Includes investigational and herbal products in addition to prescription and over-the counter (OTC) drugs, as well as neonatal and pediatric-specific monographs. Tools include: drug identification, interactions, IV compatibility, patient ed, and comparisons.
This recording provides a comprehensive walkthrough of Clinical Pharmacology powered by ClinicalKey. Learn how to effectively search for and utilize all the valuable drug information, tools and resources available through the platform (recorded WebEx webinar).
Database includes investigational and “orphan” drugs in addition to prescription & OTC. Tools include comparisons of 3000+ charts and tables, advanced dosing tools, drip rates, don’t crush/chew, & look/sound alikes.
This guide is published by Wolters Kluwer and is designed to help users understand and navigate the Facts & Comparisons eAnswers application. The application home screen provides users access to Facts & Comparisons content via global search or by using the tools in the blue bar.
DailyMed is the official provider of FDA label information (package inserts). This Web site provides a standard, comprehensive, up-to-date, look-up and download resource of medication content and labeling found in medication package inserts.
The drug labeling information on this Web site is the most recent submitted to the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) and currently in use; it may include, for example, strengthened warnings undergoing FDA review or minor editorial changes. These labels have been reformatted to make them easier to read.
The Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations (also known as The Orange Book) identifies drug products approved on the basis of safety and effectiveness by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) under the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act.