USF Shimberg Health Sciences Library

Physical Therapy Resources

A guide to physical therapy resources available through the Shimberg Health Sciences Library. NOTE: some resources are available only to members of USF Health.

Database

Physiotherapy Databases  

American Physical Therapy Association (APTA) collection of evidence-based journals and other resources. APTA membership is required to access articles.

A free database of over 40,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy, with citation details, abstracts and links to the full text, where possible. Produced by Musculoskeletal Health Sydney, School of Public Health at the University of Sydney and hosted by Neuroscience Research Australia (NeuRA).

Covers both serial and monographic literature in the following areas of sport: recreation, exercise physiology, sports medicine, coaching, physical fitness, the psychology, history and sociology of sport, training, and conditioning. Seventy percent of the database consists of periodical articles.


 

Literature Databases

The primary database for biomedical and health sciences abstracts, including MEDLINE, with links to Shimberg Library full-text articles.

Access to nursing and allied health journals, books, legal cases, research instruments, standards of practice, and clinical trials.

Access to international biomedical and pharmocologic literature from over 90 countries, including over 2,700 journals unique to EMBASE. Non-USF Health patrons click here.

Covers the professional academic literature in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. Coverage is worldwide and includes references and abstracts to over 2,500 journals and to dissertations in over 30 languages, and to book chapters and books in the English language. Over 50,000 references added annually. Popular literature is excluded. This database is updated online weekly.

Trip medical database is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. As well as research evidence, Trip allows clinicians to search across other content types including images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news.

 


Other Useful Physical Therapy Links

Shimberg Library overview of evidence based practice.

Free (registration required) alert system for quality articles; also contains a searchable database of citations to quality evidence selected by McMaster University in selected topic area.

A free, evidence-based resource for rehab professionals that uses wiki technology so that all physiotherapists can contribute, share and build knowledge.