This is the "Home" page of the "Library and Information Resources Related to Promotion and Tenure" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Library and Information Resources Related to Promotion and Tenure  

This guide is for graduate students and faculty interested in how scholars can profile themselves through tracking cited references to their work. Also included here are resources to assist in determining journal quality and rankings.
Last Updated: Oct 25, 2013 URL: http://guides.lib.usf.edu/promotion-tenure Print Guide Email Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Matt Torrence

Profile Image
Matt Torrence
Contact Info
Office LIB 111
813 974-2779
Send Email

Subscription Databases for Evaluating & Ranking Journals

These databases are accessible from off-campus through Blackboard or by using the REMOTE ACCESS LOGIN link.

  • Cabell's Directories
    Directories for business, education and psychology that profile journals, their acceptance rates, and information about the journals in these fields.
  • Journal Citation Reports  
      
    This companion publication to the Web of Knowledge can provide interesting and informative measures that complement citation counts compiled for individual publications or authors. JCR offers analysis of data gathered from 9,000 source journals carefully surveyed by ISI. Among the attributes that can be identified through the JCR the most frequently discussed is the "impact factor" associated with each journal.
  • Ulrich's Global Serials Directory
    Offers users access to serials information beyond the title level, with links to tables of contents, article abstracts, journal full-text, and document delivery. The database is designed to handle complex combined searching, usage statistics, the ability to create annotated lists of periodicals, and e-mail and download functionality in either ASCII text and ASCII-delimited formats. The Ulrich's print annual is published in five volumes, with ten indexes, and its content is limited to active titl
  • WorldCat
    A union catalog that contains over 50 million biblliographic records describing resources cataloged by OCLC member libraries around the world. This catalog can tell you how many libraries own your book or your favorite journal.
  • MLA Directory of Periodicals
    The MLA directory of periodicals offers detailed information on over 7,100 journals, with 4,400 currently indexed in the MLA international bibliography. The detailed entries include editorial contact information, as well as frequency, circulation, subscription prices and submission guidelines.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Susan Ariew
Contact Info
Academic Services Librarian for Education
USF Tampa Library
LIB 112F
813-974-0304
Send Email
 

Profiling My Journals

Below is downloadable document you can use to profile your journals for promotion/tenure purposes.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip