Provides indexing and abstracting for over 1,600 current nursing and allied health journals and other publications dating back to 1982. Offers complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, covering nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative complementary medicine, consumer health, and 17 allied health disciplines. In addition, CINAHL offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters. This database also provides full text for 56 journals plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments, clinical trials. -- Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Embase is a biomedical and pharmaceutical database containing bibliographic records with abstracts from Embase (1974-present) and MEDLINE (1966-present) deduplicated and searchable with Emtree. The following fields are covered: drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation.
Covers the professional academic literature in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. Coverage is worldwide, and includes references and abstracts to over 1,300 journals and to dissertations in over 30 languages, and to book chapters and books in the English language. Over 50,000 references added annually. Popular literature is excluded. -- Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
PubMed was developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). It was developed in conjunction with publishers of biomedical literature as a search tool for accessing literature citations and linking to full-text journals at web sites of participating publishers. Provides access to over 12 million Medline citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, includes over 15 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's. These citations are from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research. -- For saving searches and setting up email alerts please register in Scopus.
The ISI Web of Science provides seamless access to the Science Citation Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. It enables users to search current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. ISI Web of Science also provides a unique search method, cited reference searching. With it, users can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines and time spans to uncover all the information relevant to their research. Users can also navigate to electronic full-text journal articles. -- Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Most scholarly and comprehensive way to explore and understand business research topics. Search nearly 1800 worldwide business periodicals for in-depth coverage of business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more. Expanded international coverage. Fast access to information on 60,000 + companies with business and executive profiles. Now includes The Wall Street Journal. -- Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Academic Search Premier, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,650 serials, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 8,200 journals in the collection. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer science, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. The majority of full text titles are available in searchable PDF, or scanned-in-color. This database is updated on a daily basis.
Access world news from NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 500 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Each newspaper or wire service provides unique coverage of local and regional news, including specific information about local companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and the people in the community. Paid advertisements are excluded. -- VPN link: http://www.usf.edu/it/documentation/virtual-private-network.aspx -- Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Business Source Premier is one of the definitive scholarly databases in the field of business due to its depth and coverage. The database provides full text articles from more than 2,300 journals, including over 1,100 peer reviewed journals, and indexing for an additional 1,000 titles. Full text coverage dates vary, but some go back to the first issue of the journal. Full text articles from the Harvard Business Review date back to 1922. Business Source Premier also provides full text access to non-journal content: case studies (166), books (139), market research reports (426), industry reports (5095), country reports (1409), company profiles (10,051) and SWOT analyses (2842). Global monitor, Datamonitor, Countrywatch, and EIU are the source of this content. Business Source Premier also provides full text for more than 50 regional business publications, including titles from Crain Communications. As one of the EBSCOhost databases acquired by the USF Libraries, Business Source Premier is available to impaired users requiring screen-readers or using keyboard controls.
The CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. There are 44 reports produced each year including four expanded reports. -- Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Provides access to periodical and news information on a diverse set of topics, including humanities, education, business, science, current events, art, politics, economics, social science, law, health care, computers, technology, environmental issues and general interest topics. The indexing and full text are generated from the following InfoTrac databases: General business file ASAP, Expanded academic ASAP, Health reference center-academic, and LegalTrac. -- Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Provides full-text materials, abstracts and citations to patient and consumer health information found in journals, magazines, pamphlets and reference works. Provides browsable access to Gale encyclopedia of medicine, Medical & health information directory, Mosby's medical, nursing & allied health dictionary, the USPDI, vol. 2: advice for the patient, and other resources. -- Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Covers topics from cancer and vaccine research to immune deficiencies and autoimmunity. Immunology abstracts performs a vital function for scientists in this field by monitoring significant advances and bringing together diverse research results in one succinct journal. Studies relating to all aspects of immune systems in man and animals, in normal functions and disorders, are summarized. Concentrating on basic science research and its clinical implications, researchers working in a wide range of biomedical fields will find information essential to their work summarized in this journal. Updated monthly. -- Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
JSTOR (www.jstor.org) is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. For complete lists of collections available at USF, please refer to http://www.jstor.org/action/collectionsAvailable -- Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Research areas in LEXIS-NEXIS Academic Universe cover news,industry, and market news; legal news and research; company financial information; general medical topics ; accounting, auditing, and tax information; law reviews; case law; U.S. Code. -- Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Wilson OmniFile Full Text Mega edition is a multi-disciplinary database providing the complete content-- indexing, abstracts, and full text--from six of Wilson's full-text databases: Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Readers' Guide Full Text, Social Sciences Full Text, and Wilson Business Full Text. Full-text articles from five additional periodical databases are also included when available: Applied Science & Technology Full Text, Art Full Text, Biological & Agricultural Index, Index to Legal Periodicals & Books, and Library Literature & Information Science Full Text. Indexing begins in 1982, abstracts in 1984, and full-text coverage in 1994. Each database has its own start dates for indexing, abstracting, and full text; start dates for full-text rights to individual journals vary within a database. -- Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
This database provides fast access to the environmental information necessary to resolve day-to-day problems, ensure ongoing compliance, and handle emergency situations more effectively. Pollution Abstracts combines information on scientific research and government policies in a single resource. Topics of growing concern are extensively covered from the standpoints of atmosphere, emissions, mathematical models, effects on people and animals, and environmental action in response to global pollution issues. To ensure comprehensive coverage, material from conference proceedings and hard-to-find documents has been summarized along with information from primary journals in the field. -- Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Risk Abstracts encompasses risk arising from industrial, technological, environmental, and other sources, with an emphasis on assessment and management of risk. The journal includes occasional articles on topics of significant interest. The broad, multidisciplinary coverage of risk-related concerns ranges from public and environmental health to social issues and psychological aspects. Professionals involved in risk research studies, environmental science, engineering and design, or any type of industry will find in Risk abstracts essential information that can help them identify, measure, evaluate, and manage risks of all kinds. -- Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Features over 60 medical book titles, drug information, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment programs, case files, diagnostic tools, and the ability to download content to a mobile device. NOTE: To use the self-assessment tools and case studies, you will need to register for a free AccessMedicine account.
Allows selection by core curriculum topic, browsing by organ system, or searching across McGraw-Hill pharmacy and medical textbooks. NOTE: You must register for a free Access account to use the self-assessment tools and case studies.
AccessSurgery provides medical students with a variety of resources needed to excel in their surgery clerkship; assists residents in gaining instant access to videos, self-assessment, and leading surgical textbooks that will establish an important foundation for learning; enables clinical instructors to create, track and report their students progress through a Custom Curriculum tool that eases workflow and incorporates our Simbionix curriculum; and allows practicing surgeons to brush up on their medical knowledge when studying for their Maintenance of Certification Exam. NOTE: To use the self-assessment tools and case studies, you will need to register for a free AccessSurgery account.
NetLibrary is one of USFs largest collection of online books from various publishers. While USF has not purchased the entire NetLibrary collection, the USF collection numbers over 69,000 titles with a focus on scholarly publications with some general interest titles included. Over 54% of the titles are from university presses such as Oxford, MIT, and SUNY. Publishers with substantial content include Wiley and Taylor & Francis. NetLibrary also contains a searchable collection of electronic books in the public domain including titles digitized by Yale University Press.
Full-text cross-searchable reference books for the health professional. Includes other resources such as Stedman's Medical Dictionary and MedCalc 3000, a unique computerized medical reference and tool set.
The Thieme E-Book Library is an online collection of illustrated full-color downloadable textbooks from Thiemes renowned Color Atlases and Flexibook series. This comprehensive electronic library covers every course in the medical school curriculum to help students, researchers and clinicians master critical subjects in medicine and the life sciences. Non USF Health patrons click here.